[tabi] Re: disability on Social Security!

  • From: "Allison and Chip Orange" <acorange@xxxxxxxxxxx>
  • To: <tabi@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • Date: Thu, 17 Jun 2010 17:20:47 -0400

The way you described everything is also understanding I have, from the
descriptions of others.
However, I believe they said when you get your first check, it will cover 6
months of payments; the six months you had to wait for it to be approved, so
ultimately you start receiving your SSDI immediately (if I have it right).


From: tabi-bounce@xxxxxxxxxxxxx [mailto:tabi-bounce@xxxxxxxxxxxxx] On Behalf
Of Joe Plummer
Sent: Thursday, June 17, 2010 8:05 AM
To: tabi@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
Subject: [tabi] disability on Social Security!
Importance: High

Hi, I have 30 years in with the State of Florida, coming this September. I
am curtly 51 years of age. I am going in the drop for 5 years more than
likely. I will be 56 when I come out of the drop. I will not be seeking work
after the drop. Beside don't think I would stand a snow ball chance in h*all
of getting a job. I am wanting to collect my disability on Social Security.
Now I understand it will take anywhere from 3 to 6 months to get approved
after filing. At least that is what I am getting told by the SS office. I
also have been told I could not go on sick leave with pay and make more than
980 bucks a month and be approved for Disability on SS.  So if this is true
I will have to wait till I am retired and have nothing but my retirement
income. Which does put a hard ship on me unless I dig into the drop money. I
also understand after they approve you for disability on SS, that you will
not receive a check till after 6 months after you are approved. This really
makes a hard ship and now this will make me dig into my drop money for
possible from 9 months to a year. This just don't sound right to me. I
thought that if you was blind that this was a automatic disability for SS? I
know you would still have to apply for disability on SS. So I would like to
know if any of you have worked and then went on disability sort of like my
situation? I would like to know your all experience and what do you all
think and any help would be greatly appreciated.



Other related posts: