[bksvol-discuss] SUBMITTED: Naked Came The Phoenix: a serial novel

  • From: "Gerald Hovas" <geraldhovas@xxxxxxxxxxx>
  • To: <bksvol-discuss@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • Date: Sun, 18 Sep 2005 00:34:43 -0500

As the subject says, this is a serial novel.  Each of the thirteen chapters
was written by a different popular female mystery writer.  The authors
weren't allowed to rewrite anything from a previous chapter or ask the
author of a chapter to change any details for them.  They had to work with
what they were given, and they weren't allowed to create a cliffhanger that
the author of the next chapter couldn't resolve.  Other than that,
everything was fair game.

I thought the concept sounded interesting, and I recognized some of the
authors, so I decided to scan it.  It's a bit whacky, but I liked it.

You'll find a list of the authors below in the synopsis.

It's been proof read and spell checked.  I stripped the headers, but put a
header at the top of the pages where chapters begin because the page numbers
are at the bottom of the page and wouldn't protect the chapter headings.
274 pages.


THE PROMISE OF DISGRESSION AND PAMPERING-and a long-overdue reconciliation
with her mother-draws Caroline Blessing, the young wife of a newly elected
congressman, to the fancy Phoenix Spa. But after her first night in the
beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains, Caroline wakes to find the rich-and-famous
guests in turmoil and under suspicion: the spa's flamboyant and ambitious
owner has been murdered. As the secrets come out-and the body count
rises-can Caroline keep herself from becoming the next victim?

In the tradition of such collaborative classics as Naked Came the Manatee
and The Floating Admiral, each chapter in this serial novel is written by
one of today's most talented mystery novelists.

NEVADA BARR?s ninth and latest in her Anna Pigeon series is Blood Lure, and
she is now writing the tenth. She is published worldwide and has won the
Agatha and the Anthony awards and the Grand Prix des Romans d'Aventures.

J. D. ROBB is the New York Times bestselling author of the futuristic
romantic suspense series featuring Lieutenant Eve Dallas. Her most recent
titles include Betrayal in Death and Judgment in Death.

NANCY PICKARD is the author of the popular Jenny Cain mystery series and of
a new series starring true-crime writer Marie Lightfoot. Her books include
Ring of Truth and The Whole Truth.

LISA SCOTTOLINE is a New York Times bestselling author of legal thrillers,
most recently The Vendetta Defense and Moment of Truth. She has won theEdgar
and is published in over twenty countries.

Author of five New York Times bestselling novels, PERRI O?SHAUGHNESSY is
really two sisters, Pamela and Mary, who collaborate on a series of legal
thrillers and short stories.

J. A. JANCE writes two police procedural series: twelve books featuring
Detective J. P. Beaumont and nine with Sheriff Joanna Brady. She also has
two Arizona-based thrillers: Hour of the Hunter and Kiss of the Bees.

FAYE KELLERMAN is the New York Times bestselling author of the Peter
Decker/Rina Lazarus mystery series. She has also written a historical novel,
The Quality of Mercy, and Moon Music, a thriller. Her most recent novel is
The Forgotten.

MARY JANE CLARK is a producer and writer at CBS News and the author of three
media thrillers, including Let Me Whisper in Your Ear, two of which were
national bestsellers. Her fourth, Close to You, is due to be published in

MARCIA TALLEY is the author of Unbreathed Memories and the award-winning
Sing It to Her Bones.. Her third Hannah Ives mystery, Occasion of Revenge,
is due to be published in 2001. She is also the editor of Naked Came the

ANNE PERRY, author of the acclaimed Victorian series starring William Monk
and Thomas and Charlotte Pitt, has written over thirty novels, including The
One Thing More. Her many awards include the Herodotus for Lifetime
Achievement and the Edgar.

DIANA GABALDON?s The Fiery Cross, fifth in the Out-lander.series, is due to
be published late this year.She is also working on a contemporary mystery.

VAL MCDERMID has published fifteen novels and one work of nonfiction and has
won the Gold Dagger and the Grand Prix des Romans d'Aventures. Her most
recent novel is A Place of Execution.

LAURIE R. KING writes two crime fiction series as well as stand-alone
novels, most recently Folly. She has won the Edgar, the Creasey, and the
Nero Wolfe awards and been nominated for many others. She is published in
seventeen languages.

 To unsubscribe from this list send a blank Email to
put the word 'unsubscribe' by itself in the subject line.  To get a list of 
available commands, put the word 'help' by itself in the subject line.

Other related posts: