[bksvol-discuss] New volunteer intro

  • From: Karen Harshfield <karenh@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • To: bksvol-discuss@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
  • Date: Mon, 10 Dec 2007 12:59:22 -0800

Hi bookies -

I'm a relatively new volunteer here, but I've been a bookshare member for a few years. I love digital books.

I will tell you about myself:
* I am a 46 year old female.
* I live in California, north of San Francisco.
* I'm currently employed only as a wife and mom. I have two kids, an 11 year old boy, and an almost 8 year old girl. * Until the kids appeared, I used to work as a software engineer. I'm pretty comfortable around computers. * My hobbies are knitting, outdoor activities (hiking, camping, bicycling, gardening), and reading. I also like cooking and kitchen science. * I have an unspecified type of ABCA4 retinal deterioration similar to Stargardt's disease. I am partially sighted, and I don't read well at all. Can't drive or steer a bicycle (I own the bak half of a tandem.) * Both of my children are into juvenile fantasy type books, which I try to read some of along with them. My daughter likes animal fantasy, dragons, cats, owls. So I would be interested in being involved in some of those, if there is a need.
* Hardware and software that I use:
        1. Bookport (from APH)
        2. HP flat bed 8.5 x 14 inch scanner, about 10 years old maybe
        3. I use OmniPage for OCR purposes
4. I use ZoomText for my computer, and I largely rely on the speech component of this.

Well, anyway, hope that's enough and not too much. Just included this list so if anyone with a similar situation wants advice or commiseration, they would know about me.

- Karen Harshfield

To unsubscribe from this list send a blank Email to
put the word 'unsubscribe' by itself in the subject line.  To get a list of 
available commands, put the word 'help' by itself in the subject line.

Other related posts: