[gptalk] Re: Folder Redirection quandary

  • From: "Washington, Booker" <Booker.Washington@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • To: <gptalk@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • Date: Fri, 3 Nov 2006 11:34:32 -0500

It is strange because it is not consistent.  


When I try to recreate the situation on my workstation, I can move
things around freely offline.  It happens sporadically across the








From: gptalk-bounce@xxxxxxxxxxxxx [mailto:gptalk-bounce@xxxxxxxxxxxxx]
On Behalf Of Darren Mar-Elia
Sent: Thursday, November 02, 2006 6:59 PM
To: gptalk@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
Subject: [gptalk] Re: Folder Redirection quandary



I think all of what you're seeing is expected behavior (at least I've
seen it before). Offline Files prevents you from doing certain
reorganizations (i.e. moving or deleting files/folders) when you're
offline. As for the difference between always available offline vs.
always available offline, the only thing I can think of is that since
the folder was created while offline--its cached state was not pushed
down by the server folder (i.e. it was not adminstratively "pinned" as
offline). What happens is that folder is created when the user is
online? Is there any difference?





From: gptalk-bounce@xxxxxxxxxxxxx [mailto:gptalk-bounce@xxxxxxxxxxxxx]
On Behalf Of Washington, Booker
Sent: Thursday, November 02, 2006 9:29 AM
To: gptalk@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
Subject: [gptalk] Folder Redirection quandary

I have a situation where a user was offline, he created a new folder,
but the offline symbol never showed on the folder.  When he reconnected
and clicked on the icon to reconnect now that the network resource was
available and looked in the properties for the offline files,  it showed
the status of the files in that particular folder as temporarily
available offline.  Other files in the offline folder had the Always
available offline.

After disconnecting again, when he tried to move that folder inside of
another folder, he got an error saying that he needed to be connected to
the server to move the folder.

When he clicked on the reconnection icon to reconnect, the folder still
did not show the offline cache symbol.  However, if he went to the
Synchronization manager and performed a sync, then the folder got the
offline cache symbol and the files now say Always available offline


Another weird thing is that when he saves a file offline to the desktop,
it automatically gets the cache symbol, but creating new folders does
not.... Why is that


So after all of that, my two main questions are:


1.         Why would those files get the temporarily available offline
status in the offline files folder when the window also says the file(s)
have been synchronized?




2.                  Why is he not allowed to move a folder that he
created offline to another folder(He has admin rights on the box)


The network folder is set to automatically cache files.





Other related posts: