[wiaattorneys] Lawsuit

  • From: "Pomerantz, Jane C. \(GC-LI\)" <jpomerantz@xxxxxxxxxxx>
  • To: "Stalker, Teresa [IWD]" <Teresa.Stalker@xxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Al Smith" <al.smith@xxxxxxxxxxx>, "Angie Fyfe" <Angie.Fyfe@xxxxxxxxxxx>, "Anne Eisenman" <anne.eisenman@xxxxxx>, "B Kaufman" <bkaufman@xxxxxxxxxx>, "Bervid, Joseph [IWD]" <Joseph.Bervid@xxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Brian Hopkins" <bhopkins2@xxxxxx>, "Brock Timmons" <btimmons@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Carol Brassey" <carol.brassey@xxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Charles Bradley" <cbradley@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Chief Counsel" <esc.chief.counsel@xxxxxxxxxx>, "Coleman Walsh" <coleman.walsh@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Cynthia H Norwood" <cnorwood@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Cynthia Quetsch" <cynthia.quetsch@xxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Daniel LaRocque" <daniel.larocque@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Dennis Zerlan" <Dennis.Zerlan@xxxxxxxxxxx>, "Dirk Anderson" <dirk.anderson@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Don Ballard" <don.ballard@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Donna Welch" <welchd@xxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Doris Duhigg" <doris.duhigg@xxxxxxxxxxx>, "Elaine Snow" <elaine.snow@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Elizabeth B Peay" <epeay@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Erika Uhl" <erikas@xxxxxxxxxx>, "Frances Lum" <Frances.E.Lum@xxxxxxxxxx>, "Fred Baird" <Fred.Baird@xxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Fred Gamin" <fred.gamin@xxxxxxxxxx>, "Gail Theriault" <gtheriault@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Gary Holland" <gary.holland@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "George Wentworth" <george.wentworth@xxxxxx>, "Greg Frigo" <greg.frigo@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Gregory Ramel" <Gregory.Ramel@xxxxxxxxxxxx>, "H W Funderburk Jr" <bfunderburk@xxxxxxxx>, "Heidi Lane" <heidi.lane@xxxxxx>, "J Gannon" <JGannon@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "James F. Inman" <James.Inman@xxxxxx>, "Jeff Wells" <jeff.wells@xxxxxxxxxxx>, "John Albin" <jalbin@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "John Garrett" <jgarrett@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "John Herold" <herolj@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "John Miley" <john.miley@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "John Perry" <john.perry@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Joseph Duda" <dudaj@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Joseph Mueller" <jmuelle@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Judi Cicatiello" <cicatj@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Judy Johnson" <jjohnson@xxxxxxxxxx>, "Juli Croy" <Juli.Croy@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Katherine Takasugi" <Katherine.Takasugi@xxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Kevin Kerwin" <kevin.kerwin@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Kristine Musall" <KMusall@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Larry Weaver" <wweave@xxxxxxxxxxx>, "Laura Merrion" <LMerrion@xxxxxxxxxx>, "Lee B. Nelson" <Lee.Nelson@xxxxxxxxxxx>, "Liz Wyman" <liz.wyman@xxxxxxxxx>, "Lon Siel" <lsiel@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "M McLaugh" <mmclaugh@xxxxxxxxx>, "Margaret Dawkins" <margaret.dawkins@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Michael Milwee" <michael.milwee@xxxxxx>, "Michael Randall" <mrandall@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Mike Fort" <mike.fort@xxxxxxxxxxx>, "Mike Wilma" <mwilma@xxxxxxxxxxx>, "Mindy Raymaker" <mindy.raymaker@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Nan Thomas" <nthomas@xxxxxxxxxx>, "Nancy Meeden" <Nancy.Meeden@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Pam Waite" <pam.waite@xxxxxxxxx>, "Patrick Power" <powerp01@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Paul Mason" <paul.mason@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Peter Wright" <pwright@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Phyllis Edwards" <Phyllis.Edwards@xxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Randall Justice" <RandyK.Justice@xxxxxx>, "Ray Therrell" <rtherrell@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Rebecca Sanders" <rebecca.sanders@xxxxxxxxxx>, "Renee Bryant" <Renee.Bryant@xxxxxxxxxxx>, "Robert Ganong" <rganong@xxxxxxxxx>, "Robert Welsh" <WelshR01@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Creegan, Sean F. \(GC-LI\)" <screegan@xxxxxxxxxxx>, "S Freihofner" <sfreihofner@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "S Harlan" <sharlan@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Sandra Hughes" <shughes1@xxxxxxxxxx>, "Sante Perrelli" <perrellis@xxxxxxxxxxxx>, "Shannon George-Larson" <Shannon.George-Larson@xxxxxxxxxxx>, "Susan Pixton" <spixton@xxxxxxxx>, "Tamela Biggs" <TamelaA.Biggs@xxxxxx>, "Thomas Ellis" <thomas.ellis@xxxxxxxxxxx>, "Thomas Ukinski" <tukinski@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, <zechmanneilr@xxxxxxxxxxxx>, <wiaattorneys@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>, <bsimoneau@xxxxxxxxx>, <charris@xxxxxxxxx>, <mmedley@xxxxxxxx>
  • Date: Tue, 13 Feb 2007 15:18:46 -0500

Hi everyone:

Sorry if you receive two of these messages but I'm trying to contact as
many state attorneys as possible.

Pennsylvania and US DOL have been sued in US District Court by Geneva
College alleging violations of its rights of freedom of "expressive
association," free speech, free exercise of religion, and equal
protection under the Constitution and the Religious Freedom Restoration
Act.  The lawsuit arose after the Department would not permit the
College's employer job listings to include religion-specific criteria on
its government-funded job order system without a showing that the
College's criteria met the requisite bona fide occupational
qualification requirements of state law.  

Has anyone been involved in a similar issue especially an organization
wanting to add religious criteria to job orders on your Wagner-Peyser
funded employment system?  Anything you can add to this, including state
or federal cases you know about, or your experience with this issue and
with DOL, please let me know?

This case and the issue raised by it will affect all states and their
operation of Wagner Peyser funded public employment service.

Thanks JP

Jane C. Pomerantz 
Deputy Chief Counsel 
Department of Labor & Industry 
Phone: 717-787-4186 
Fax:     717-787-1303 

Wisdom is knowing the right road to take. 
Integrity is taking it. 

Other related posts:

  • » [wiaattorneys] Lawsuit