[projectaon] Re: Outstanding Errata Sprint (Week 6)

  • From: Chris Neilson <crusty.chris@xxxxxxxxx>
  • To: projectaon@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
  • Date: Thu, 30 Jun 2011 12:20:32 +1200

The rules of Grey Star dont say that your wizard's staff is two-handed
or you cant use two weapons together, only that you cant have more than
2 weapons. Youre thinking of the rules for LW.

Ergo, using a dagger with your staff and adding the CS bonus is correct.

On Wed, 2011-06-29 at 15:48 +0000, John TFS wrote:
> I'm inclined to agree with you.  Plus, when you think about it, Grey
> Star doesn't really fight in as classic manner with a Quarterstaff.
> He create a blaze of magical energy at one end of the thing and then
> burns his opponents with it.

Well technically he strikes the enemy with the staff (something you can
do one handed like you mention) and magical bolt of energy is released
from the staff. Thats why you dont even need Willpower to fight with
your staff, you only use your willpower to boost the output from your
staff (and do more damage).

>   Hell, the cover of book 1 shows him holding the glowing staff in one
> hand (though Book 2, which is the only cover to show him fighting,
> does have him using two hands).  So, figure he can use the Jeweled
> Dagger as well.
> ______________________________________________________________________
> To: projectaon@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
> Date: Wed, 29 Jun 2011 15:58:09 +0100
> Subject: [projectaon] Re: Outstanding Errata Sprint (Week 6)
> From: feline1@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
> yeah I know - 
> But I thought the possibility of you losing your staff but not your
> dagger was so remote that they can't ever have intended you to have a
> choice of such a useless bonus, and thus reasoned either you must be
> able to use it in combat as well as the staff, or the bonus was
> "magical" :)
> Which was probably clutching at straws. Or Klesaas., or something
> -- 
> http://www.feline1.co.uk 
> On Wed 29/06/11 3:21 PM , John TFS johntfs@xxxxxxxxxxx sent:
>         The Jeweled Dagger was +1 CS.  For my part I never took it
>         because the Staff was a two-handed Weapon.  Thus, the only way
>         you'd get any use out of the Dagger would be if you'd somehow
>         lost your Staff and still had the Dagger, in which you'd be
>         fighting at -5 CS instead of -6 CS.  For that reason I always
>         pick the Talisman of the Shianti.  The 2 point WP bonus isn't
>         that great, but the Talisman will at least help you with a
>         bonus to a couple of RNT picks.
>         ______________________________________________________________
>         To: projectaon@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
>         Date: Wed, 29 Jun 2011 09:44:48 +0100
>         Subject: [projectaon] Re: Outstanding Errata Sprint (Week 6)
>         From: feline1@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
>         Indeed.
>         Actually, this is why in the Grey Star books, when you have a
>         choice of a Jewelled Dagger (with +1CS ... or is it +2?) for
>         your initial equipment, 
>         I always choose it and add the +2 when fighting, on the basis
>         that I'm using it *with* my staff, 
>         as it always struck me as absurd that you would have an item
>         which only gave you small CS bonus if you decided to fight
>         without your staff, thus automatically losing 6CS! Your
>         mileage may vary :)
>         -- 
>         http://www.feline1.co.uk 
>         On Wed 29/06/11 3:35 AM , John TFS johntfs@xxxxxxxxxxx sent:
>                 Because it strikes me as absurd that Dever would
>                 create a bonus that caters exclusively to those
>                 players who refuse to master the Bow at Mentora level
>                 and beyond.

Manage your subscription at http://www.freelists.org/list/projectaon

Other related posts: