[pcductape] Re: SpyWareNuker

  • From: "Carl" <ctm007@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • To: <pcductape@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • Date: Sat, 15 Feb 2003 19:17:57 -0600

MessageHi Martha,

Thank you, thank you, thank you.   :-)   I had installed the
"free" software and ran it once and it gave me suggestions to
delete stuff I really use.   So before I deleted anything I
thought I would ask.   I'm glad I did.  I have now uninstalled
the spywarenuker.

I am using Panicware Pop-up Stopper and I like it.


  ----- Original Message -----
  From: Martha Bagwell
  To: pcductape@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
  Sent: Saturday, February 15, 2003 5:51 PM
  Subject: [pcductape] Re: SpyWareNuker

  There is some talk that SpyWareNuker itself is spyware.  I
got this from a newsletter:
  'A tale has been making the rounds of various
privacy-oriented message boards about a piece of spyware
removal software which might be spyware itself. I'm talking
about "Spyware Nuker", a product made by Lion's Pride
Enterprises. Lion's Pride is the company responsible for a
program called wnad. Wnad was distributed last year by
rankyou.com as a hidden popup-spawning module inside a game
called "Yo Mama Osama". Supposedly the money generated by the
popup spam was to go to The Red Cross to help with the
WTC/Pentagon victim's fund, but I am unaware of any money
being disbursed to this fund by Lion's Pride Enterprises or

  One post that I read at computing.net by someone who tested
this software reports that the main executable of the program
is compressed in an obscure format, making the source code
unreadable. The poster also provided a snippet from the End
User License Agreement (EULA).

  From the EULA: "You acknowledge that "Trek Blue" may, at
their sole discretion and for any purpose, provide updates,
automatic or otherwise, to the "Trek Blue" Program(s)
including but not limited to the advertising or other
value-added software and technology."

  "By installing, downloading, copying, updating or otherwise
using the "Trek Blue" Program(s), you specifically agree to
include and/or accept the noted software and technology
through which "Trek Blue", its subsidiaries, affiliates,
partners, divisions, and clients provide value-added upgrades
and applications to your computer."

  Judging by the EULA alone, certainly it is adware. Is this
so-called spyware cleaner also spyware? Further testing should
find out one way or the other. '

  So I didn't take any chances with this & won't install it.


  Martha's Web

    ----- Original Message -----
    From: Carl
    To: pcductape@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
    Sent: Saturday, February 15, 2003 4:17 PM
    Subject: [pcductape] SpyWareNuker

    Has anyone tried SpyWareNuker?
    If so, any problems?

Other related posts: