[pcductape] Re: Can anyone tell me what this means?

  • From: "Pam" <ltf01@xxxxxxxxxx>
  • To: <pcductape@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • Date: Wed, 4 Feb 2004 00:10:42 -0600

This error message is bogus.  They want you to believe that there is
something wrong.  Yes, you may have problems on your machine, but what they
are telling you isn't one of them.  That whole message is nothing but
fabricated malarchy to suck you in to their scheme.

You said you are using XP.  I have Win2k but I understand the paths are
about the same.  Do this. Open your Control Panel, click on Administrative
Tools, then in that list select Services.  In the list that comes up, find
Messenger. Double click on it and on the General tab, find StartUp and
change it to Manual.  Click OK or Close all boxes.  That's all there is to
it to keep those guys from spamming you again with that Messenger window.

Next, go to your Ad-Aware program and tell it to update.  Then run it again.

Next go to http://download.com.com/3000-2144-10194058.html?tag=lst-0-1
and download Spybot Search & Destroy.  It finds things that Ad-Aware does
not.  Download, install, update, and then run it.

Next is to get rid of the virus problem.  Go to your virus provider and
update the protection pattern.  Then scan your system and let us know what
it says it finds.


-----Original Message-----
From: pcductape-bounce@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
[mailto:pcductape-bounce@xxxxxxxxxxxxx]On Behalf Of Lisa Schnepf
Sent: Tuesday, February 03, 2004 11:51 PM
To: pcductape@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
Subject: [pcductape] Re: Can anyone tell me what this means?

Ok, question- Buffer Overrun in Messenger Service Could Allow Code
Execution (828035)
What exactly does that mean? I see Buffer Underrun in my CD burner
software, and don't know what that means, either.  I don't have
Messenger running in the background.  (I'm assuming they mean MSN
Messenger?) Do you think I need the patch?


-----Original Message-----
From: pcductape-bounce@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
[mailto:pcductape-bounce@xxxxxxxxxxxxx] On Behalf Of Bob Noble
Sent: Tuesday, February 03, 2004 11:52 PM
To: pcductape@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
Subject: [pcductape] Re: Can anyone tell me what this means?

Hi Lisa,
I'd say don't buy it because it is not taking you to a Microsoft web
site. The address should say Microsoft.

There is a patch by this name, which you can get here.


It could be that someone is using this legit patch to suck people in.

Never, never get a patch from anywhere, but Microsoft.

If there is something you are not sure of do searches on it instead. Bob
Noble www.sonic.net/bnoble
----- Original Message -----
From: "Lisa Schnepf" <lars2@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
To: "SAYQ" <sayq@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: <pcductape@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Sent: Tuesday, February 03, 2004 8:20 PM
Subject: [pcductape] Can anyone tell me what this means?

> I keep getting this box that pops up on my desktop for no reason.  Is
> it legit?  Should I go to the website it's mentions to download a
> patch??
> Thanks.
> Lisa
> ~~Just remember, if the world didn't suck, we'd all fall off...~~

To unsubscribe from this list send an email to
pcductape-request@xxxxxxxxxxxxx with 'unsubscribe' in the Subject field
OR by logging into the Web interface. 

To view the message archives simply go to: 

Other related posts: