MAASE Announcement Fwd: URGENT--CALL SENATORS NOW!!! FW: Action Alert--Senate Amendment Proposes to Half IDEA Funding; Vote Expected Today!!!

  • From: Anthony Thaxton <anthonythaxton@xxxxxxx>
  • To: Listserv Listserv <maase@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • Date: Thu, 05 Feb 2009 14:41:06 -0500

Urgent message from CASE follows:

- Tony

Anthony Thaxton, Ph.D.
Executive Director
Michigan Association of Administrators of Special Education
4769 Crestridge Court
Holland, MI 49423
616-283-0597

Begin forwarded message:

From: Luann Purcell <lpurcell@xxxxxxxxxxx>
Date: February 5, 2009 2:30:43 PM EST
To: 'Jill Adams' <jadams@xxxxxxxxxx>, "'Thomas C. Adams'" <adamstc@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, TerryAllee@xxxxxxxxxxx, 'Emilie Anderson' <anderson@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Dianne Barr-Cole' <dbcole@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, cbearden@xxxxxxxx, 'Becky Cezar' <bcezar@xxxxxxxxxx>, 'Kathleen Blake' <kblake11@xxxxxxxxx>, 'Duane Borgenson' <DBorgeson@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Mary Boscardin' <mlbosco@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Cathy Boshamer' <cboshame@xxxxxxxx>, 'Diane Bruening' <bruening.diane@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Sue Carrecia' <suscarr@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, acarter@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx, 'Christy Chambers' <cchambers@xxxxxxxxx>, 'Melinda Chambers' <melindac@xxxxxxxxx>, tracy.christensen@xxxxxxxxx, sclark@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx, 'Gary Collings' <gcolling@xxxxxxx>, emilycollinsga@xxxxxxxxxxx, jbdominguez@xxxxxxxxxxx, 'Sarah Deck' <sdeck@xxxxxxxxxxx>, allyson@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx, 'Timothy Gantz' <tgantz@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Deborah Gay' <dfgay@xxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Lorie Gerkey' <lgerkey@xxxxxxxxx>, 'Kim Gibbons' <kgibbons@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Mary Gomez' <MGomez@xxxxxxxxx>, kgoodwin@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx, 'Lynn Gosser' <Lynn_gosser@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Patty Grable' <patty.grable@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'David Grapka' <davidgrapka@xxxxxxxxx>, 'Tonya Green' <tgreen@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Patricia Guthrie' <Pat4ideas@xxxxxxx>, 'Judy Hackett' <jhackett@xxxxxxxxx>, 'Deb Heslinga' <dheslinga@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, rhess@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx, 'Melanie Hester' <hesterm@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Gerald Hime' <gjhime@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Teresa Hinnant' <hinnantt@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Kristi Hinton' <kristi_hinton@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Cheryl Hofweber' <chofweber@xxxxxxxxxx>, 'Pamela Houston-Powell' <pamela.houstonpowell@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, gailhowell@xxxxxxxxxxx, 'Sue Ireland' <sireland@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Laurel Jackson' <ljackson@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Troy James' <tjames@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Laurie Jefsen' <ljefsen@xxxxxxxxx>, 'Carla Jentz' <cbjase@xxxxxxx>, 'Mary Kealy' <Mary.kealy@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "'Leah A. Kelly'" <leah.kelly@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Mark King' <mking@xxxxxxxxx>, 'Karen Kisor' <kkisor@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Phil Knobel' <philknobel@xxxxxxxxx>, 'Dale 'lambert' <dlambert@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Roxie Lanier' <rlanier@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Lorna Larsen' <lorna.larsen@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Lydia Lavin' <llavin@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, debra.layland@xxxxxxxx, 'Rita Levay' <levarhs@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Ron Love' <rlove@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Eloise McGarry' <emcgarry@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "'Dr. James V McLaughlin'" <mclaughlin@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, lmeston@xxxxxxx, Daryl_Miller@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx, 'Steve Milliken' <smilliken@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Laura Mohr' <mohreduc@xxxxxxx>, 'Judy Montgomery' <montgome@xxxxxxxxxxx>, mmoody@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx, 'Louise Moreau' <louise.moreau@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Joyce Mounsteven' <joyce@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Gary Myrah' <gary.myrah@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "'Panicek, Joanne'" <jpanicek@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Alan Pardy' <alan@xxxxxxxxxx>, alan@xxxxxxxxxx, 'Jo Ellen Parker' <jparker@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Allie Pelayo' <apelayo@xxxxxxxxx>, jrperez@xxxxxxxxx, Michelle.Powers@xxxxxxxxx, 'Maria Rascon' <amrascon@xxxxxxxx>, 'JoAlice Ray' <MJRAY@xxxxxxxxxx>, 'Melinda Reames' <Melinda.reames@xxxxxxxxx>, 'Nan Records' <nan.records@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Elizabeth Render' <erender@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Sarah Richarz' <sarah.richarz@xxxxxxxxx>, dennis_Roberson@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx, 'Harvey Rude' <Harvey.rude@xxxxxxxx>, 'Gina Scala' <SPEDGRS@xxxxxxx>, 'Michael Schulman' <mschulman@xxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Bonnie Seery' <drseery@xxxxxxxx>, 'Debbie Smith' <dsmith@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>, rsmith@xxxxxxxxxxx, 'Carole Sorrenti' <csorrenti@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'George Spilker' <gspilker@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "'St Jean, David E (SS)'" <David.StJean@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, "'Stanfield, Greta '" <Greta.Stanfield@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Butch Stevens' <bstevens@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, estokebr@xxxxxxxx, 'Paul Stracco' <pstracco@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'John Street' <jstreet@xxxxxxxx>, 'Anthony Thaxton' <anthonythaxton@xxxxxxx>, amie.tooley@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx, 'Barbara Van Haren' <bvanharen@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, laurievanderploeg@xxxxxxxxxxx, 'Wyllys VanDerwerker' <vanderwerkerwd@xxxxxxxxxx>, 'Tom VanGorder' <tvangorder@xxxxxxxxxxxx>, MARYLWALL@xxxxxxx, 'Vicki Wells' <vwells@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'George Wilson' <gwilson123@xxxxxxxxx>, "'Wolfram, Phyllis'" <PhyllisWolfram@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>, 'Pamela Wright' <pwright@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Cc: 'Elisabeth Williams' <elisabethw@xxxxxxxxxxxx>
Subject: URGENT--CALL SENATORS NOW!!! FW: Action Alert--Senate Amendment Proposes to Half IDEA Funding; Vote Expected Today!!!

This is CRITICAL….please CALL your senator NOW….tell them to vote NO on reducing the IDEA funds/Education funds in the stimulus package
Send this request to as many of your colleagues as you can….ASAP
 
Luann
 
Dr. Luann L. Purcell
Executive Director
NOTE NEW ADDRESS &TELEPHONE NUMBERS!
Council of Administrators of Special Education, Inc
Osigian Office Centre
101 Katelyn Circle
Suite E
Warner Robins, GA 31088
Office-  478-333-6892
Fax-      478-333-2453
 
CDs are available of the CASE Webinar with Dr. Perry Zirkel, January 14 --to order, go to http://www.casecec.org/conferences.htm 

From: Elisabeth Williams [mailto:elisabethw@xxxxxxxxxxxx] 
Sent: Thursday, February 05, 2009 1:25 PM
To: lpurcell@xxxxxxxxxxx
Subject: Action Alert--Senate Amendment Proposes to Half IDEA Funding; Vote Expected Today!!!
 
 
 
Senate Amendment Proposes to Half IDEA Funding; Vote Expected Today
 
Today (2/5), Senators Ben Nelson (D-NE) and Susan Collins (R-ME) - with the support of many Senators - will unveil an amendment to the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act which would cut in half proposed funding increases for IDEA. 
 
Currently, the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act proposes a $13.5 billion increase for IDEA over two years.  This amendment, if passed, would cut this increase in half. A vote on this amendment is expected today. 
 
CEC urges you to call your Senators today to tell them to VOTE NO to the Nelson-Collins amendment. By providing your zip code, CEC’s Legislative Action Center will give you talking points, your Senator’s contact information and a feedback form. 
 
Every Senate office must hear from special educators to understand how critical IDEA funding is to staving off layoffs, ensuring continuation of programs, and freeing up resources for other critical initiatives. 
 
 
 
See how much money the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act would bring to your school district in the areas of Title I, school construction and IDEA Part B.  (NOTE: This information uses the $13.5 billion increase originally proposed for IDEA, NOT the Nelson-Collins amendment proposal)
 
Please be sure to fill out the feedback form so CEC can keep track of how many Senators have been contacted.  Contact CEC's Policy and Advocacy Team with any questions: Elisabeth Williams, Policy Coordinator, elisabethw@xxxxxxxxxxxx or 703-264-9498
 
 
Elisabeth Williams
Policy Coordinator
Policy and Advocacy Services
Council for Exceptional Children
1110 North Glebe Road
Suite 300
Arlington, Virginia 22201
703-264-9498 (T) 703-243-0410 (F)
888-232-7733 (Toll free)
8666-915-5000 (TTY)
 
Register by March 9 for best rates on CEC's 2009 Convention & Expo – go to www.cec.sped.org for more information.
 

Other related posts:

  • » MAASE Announcement Fwd: URGENT--CALL SENATORS NOW!!! FW: Action Alert--Senate Amendment Proposes to Half IDEA Funding; Vote Expected Today!!! - Anthony Thaxton