[lit-ideas] The Seven Pillars of Wisdom (Was: The Caryatides)

  • From: Jlsperanza@xxxxxxx
  • To: lit-ideas@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
  • Date: Sat, 4 Sep 2004 16:38:41 EDT

In a message dated 9/4/2004 3:28:19 PM Eastern Standard Time, goya@xxxxxxx  
Although  I usually don't get very far when I ask JLS the following=20=

question,  I'll try once again=A0: what is the source for this=20
information? It  seems to me patently false. The nine Muses (Calliope,=20
Clio, Euterpe,  Terpsichore, Erato, Melpomene, Thalia, Polyhymnia,=20
Urania) were each the  protectress of a different art

Yep, I guess you're right. Else T. E. Lawrence's book would have been  called 
"The _nine_ pillars of wisdom" -- It's an odd development of Antiquity,  
though, that the general name for the muses (as in 'musica') -- and not the  
_karyatides_ -- was _one_ of the seven pillars of wisdom (the trivium [3] = the 
quatrivium [4] = 7].
Interesting that there's musae other than sapientum (Japan's Banana,  
Ecuador's Banana, etc). 

To change your Lit-Ideas settings (subscribe/unsub, vacation on/off,
digest on/off), visit www.andreas.com/faq-lit-ideas.html

Other related posts:

  • » [lit-ideas] The Seven Pillars of Wisdom (Was: The Caryatides)