[Ilugc] Re: Banishing from ILUGC list

  • From: sriram@xxxxxxxxxxxxx (Prof. P. Sriram)
  • Date: Mon, 16 Feb 2004 10:21:32 +0530 (IST)

dear luggies,

iitm is being swamped with large volume of spam and has to take protective
action against it - for example, i was getting over 50 spam mails a day
and my real mail is usually around 10-15. aero department (which happens
to run this mailing list also) has taken action by implementing spam 
assassin and also dnsbl blocking using several net resources. one of our 
list members who has been affected adversely asked,

 --- "Arvind R." <arvind@xxxxxxxxxxx> wrote: 

- why am I being bounced by ilugc - for my comments or for using Linux
capabilities or for not being wealthy enough to afford a permanent line?

The URL referred to says that THEY are not blocking me but the
adminstrators of the adreesed machine ( I tried aero.iitm.ernet.in,
ae.iitm.ac.in, ae.iitm.ernet.in )

Is it because of my ( misapplied sense of humour, maybe ) post to the
Disclaimer thread. BTW, I received a couple of mails in appreciation of
that - both from poor free mail account holders.

Being banished from the forum, I'm seeking your help to find out why.


first of all, my apologies to arvind. secondly, nobody has banished
anybody from the forum. as long as i am around, i intend to keep this an
open forum where ms lovers and linux haters are also welcome. ok, now,
what is the problem and is there a solution? well, the poster was blocked
since the mail delivery attempt was from a dynamic ip. i have nothing
against dynamic ip's and dont require people to use static ip's. however,
isp's should (and do) provide static mail forwarding hosts and the mail
should be routed through that in order to reach the list. direct posting
from dynamic ip's is one of the well known sources of spam and in order to
protect users@xxxxxxx, i have blocked direct mail from dynamic ip's. a
quick analysis suggests that the blocked post was from a vsnl (dialup?)
connection. i dont know vsnl policy, but surely, they provide a legitimate 
mail forwarding host? i hope that is enough information to attack and 
solve the problem.


ps: i can be reached as sriram@xxxxxxxxxx without worrying about such 

Other related posts:

  • » [Ilugc] Re: Banishing from ILUGC list - Prof. P. Sriram