[haiku-development] Re: No unmount during shutdown?

  • From: Jérôme Duval <korli@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • To: haiku-development@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
  • Date: Tue, 17 Aug 2010 17:46:18 +0200

2010/8/17 Axel Dörfler <axeld@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>:
> Depends on what you do; after "sync", the volume should be in a clean
> state, ie. no data loss if you immediately remove the drive.

Sure. Though on the next mount, the FS could still be marked as
previously mounted.

>
>> Certainly no, sync is not the same as unmount.
>> I'd say it's a bug if we do not unmount.
>
> While we could force unmount, we cannot do a generic unmount of
> everything, since we let several services running that don't need to be
> stopped (for example those that still let you move the mouse, and allow
> you to push the "restart" button if shutting down failed for whatever
> reason).

I'd go with unmounting at least non-boot volumes, after killing user teams.

Bye,
Jérôme

Other related posts: