[AZ-Observing] Re: Schurs astro site

  • From: "Richard Harshaw" <rharshaw2@xxxxxxx>
  • To: <az-observing@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • Date: Thu, 22 Jan 2009 19:27:50 -0700

Yes. Firefox apparently checks with Google to be sure a site has not been
compromised. If you click the button about learning more, you'll get a
report that a malicious software creep hit Chris's site and left behind some
doo doo. Only one report on it, per Google, and I imagine by now that Chris
is "safe" to visit again. I went ahead and told Firefox to ignore the
warning and viewed the images, and my AVG program detected nothing unusual.

Richard Harshaw
Cave Creek, AZ

-----Original Message-----
From: az-observing-bounce@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
[mailto:az-observing-bounce@xxxxxxxxxxxxx] On Behalf Of Peter Argenziano
Sent: Thursday, January 22, 2009 6:36 PM
To: AZ Observing
Subject: [AZ-Observing] Schurs astro site

When I tried visiting Chris' site this evening to have another look at 
that great Crab image, I get the following warning in my browser 
(Firefox 3.0.5).
Anyone else seen this?


Reported Attack Site!
This web site at www.schursastrophotography.com has been reported as an 
attack site and has been blocked based on your security preferences.
Attack sites try to install programs that steal private information, use 
your computer to attack others, or damage your system.
Some attack sites intentionally distribute harmful software, but many 
are compromised without the knowledge or permission of their owners.

    Safe Browsing

      /Diagnostic page for/ www.schursastrophotography.com

*What is the current listing status for www.schursastrophotography.com?*

    Site is listed as suspicious - visiting this web site may harm your

    Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 1 time(s) over
    the past 90 days.

*What happened when Google visited this site?*

    Of the 2 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 2
    page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and
    installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this
    site was on 2009-01-21, and the last time suspicious content was
    found on this site was on 2009-01-21.

    Malicious software is hosted on 1 domain(s), including

    2 domain(s) appear to be functioning as intermediaries for
    distributing malware to visitors of this site, including

    This site was hosted on 1 network(s) including AS32392

*Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further 
distribution of malware?*

    Over the past 90 days, www.schursastrophotography.com did not appear
    to function as an intermediary for the infection of any sites.

*Has this site hosted malware?*

    No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.

*How did this happen?*

    In some cases, third parties can add malicious code to legitimate
    sites, which would cause us to show the warning message.

See message header for info on list archives or unsubscribing, and please 
send personal replies to the author, not the list.

See message header for info on list archives or unsubscribing, and please 
send personal replies to the author, not the list.

Other related posts: