[AZ-Observing] Re: Leonid Peak

  • From: "Stanley A. Gorodenski" <stan_gorodenski@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • To: az-observing@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
  • Date: Tue, 16 Nov 2004 21:48:37 -0800

Thanks. I had not planned on being on the east coast of Africa or Asia 
this week and so I will observe after midnight tonight. BTW, it is very 
clear of clouds, and nice and cool at this moment in the Prescott area.
Stan

BillFerris@xxxxxxx wrote:

> 
> 
>Stan Gorodenski wrote:
>I was  led to believe from reading skypud.com that the Leonids were 
>expected to  peak Wednesday morning, but it appears there is some 
>speculation that it  might be Friday. Does anyone have more information 
>on the expected  peak?
>
>
>Experts predict the 2004 Leonids will feature two peaks on the night of  
>November 18-19. The first comes when Earth will pass near the meteor stream of 
> 
>the year 1333 on 19 November at about 06:40 UT (18 November, 11:40 pm MST). 
>This 
> favors observers along the east coast of South America. Earth is predicted 
>to  pass through the stream of 1733 at about 21:50 UT (2:50 pm MST) on the 
>19th, a  peak which would favor observers in Asia. 
>
>For those of us located  outside the favored regions for the above-mentioned 
>events, the best time to go  out and look for Leonid meteors will be during 
>the historical peak just  before sunrise on the morning of November 17.
> 
>
>Bill in Flagstaff
>_www.cosmic-voyage.net_ (http://www.cosmic-voyage.net) 
>
>
>--
>See message header for info on list archives or unsubscribing, and please 
>send personal replies to the author, not the list.
>
>
>
>  
>

--
See message header for info on list archives or unsubscribing, and please 
send personal replies to the author, not the list.

Other related posts: