[audacity4blind] Re: Editing multiple tracks and question about synclock tracks

  • From: "Robbie" <tickleberryfun@xxxxxxxxx>
  • To: <audacity4blind@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • Date: Sun, 11 Dec 2016 12:25:26 +0100

Hi Thomas!
I found the following explanation by David Bailes helpful.
 
Start of Quote
the idea of sync-lock tracks is to try and keep a group of tracks time 
synchronized with each other when some operation, such as deleting, affects the 
timing of one or more tracks in the group.
 
Say you just had two audio tracks, and they were sync-locked. If you select one 
track and a time range, and delete the selected audio, then the audio in that 
time range in the unselected track is also deleted, so that all the remaining 
audio in the two tracks is still in sync with each other.
Similarly with just two tracks which are sync locked, then if you select one 
track, and paste some audio into that track at the cursor position, then 
silence, with the same duration as the pasted audio, is pasted into the 
unselected track at the cursor position.
 
You switch sync lock tracks on and off in the tracks menu, and by default it's 
off.
If there are only audio tracks in the project, then there's just one group of 
sync-locked tracks. The tracks in a project can be divided up into more than 
one group using label tracks. Each audio track which follows immediately after 
a label track starts a new group.
 
When you select one or more tracks in a sync locked group, then an appropriate 
icon is shown in the track for sighted users, the phrase "sync lock selected" 
is added to the name of the track for screen reader users.
End of quote
 
Personally I use Sync-Lock when dealing with large projects. If there is only a 
couple of tracks I select them each manually, but doing that with 70 or 80 
tracks is doomed to tedium.
Note that most effects don’t process tracks individually. Compressing several 
selected tracks for instance, does not result in equal levels. As far as I’m 
aware, Normalize is the only effect that does that. It would be a really handy 
option to have for all effects. There’s a thought for the developers... 
 
Cheers! Robbie
From: audacity4blind-bounce@xxxxxxxxxxxxx 
[mailto:audacity4blind-bounce@xxxxxxxxxxxxx] On Behalf Of Thomas Byskov Dalgaard
Sent: Saturday, December 10, 2016 5:21 PM
To: audacity4blind@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
Subject: [audacity4blind] Re: Editing multiple tracks and question about 
synclock tracks
 
Hi Andrew!
 
But basically I can forget about synclock tracks and instead select the tracks 
I want to edit at once with the enter key instead of grouping them together and 
still produce edits on all selected tracks?
 
Thanks so much that you found the excerpt in the manual, with your own thoughts 
and that, it was very helpful. If you find anything else regarding this, please 
let me know. :)
 
Best regards Thomas
 

Sendt fra min iPhone via Braille Sense U2/MBraille

Den 10. dec. 2016 kl. 05.47 skrev Andrew Downie <access_tech@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx 
<mailto:access_tech@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx> >:
Hi Thomas
 
I first thought that you turn on sync lock before creating the tracks.  
However, it can be turned on afterwards to sync lock a group of tracks.  A 
group of tracks must be separated from other groups by a label track.
 
Your expectation of sync lock exceeds what it offers.  While any adjustment you 
make to length of a track by such actions as deleting a section or changing 
speed on a selected track will affect all tracks in the group whether selected 
or not, applying an effect to one track does not have it applied to unselected 
tracks in the group.  Shame that!
 
Here is an excerpt from the manual:
Sync-Locked Track Groups
The Sync-Locked Track Groups feature is enabled by the "Sync-Lock Tracks" menu 
item or button. It ensures that length and position changes occurring anywhere 
in a defined group of tracks also take place in all audio or label tracks in 
that Sync-Locked track group even if those tracks were not selected. 
This lets you keep existing audio or labels synchronized with each other even 
when carrying out actions like inserting, deleting or changing speed or tempo.
Warning icon
This command does NOT let you select particular individual tracks then 
interlock those selected tracks, rather Sync-Locking is based on Track Groups. 
Sync-Lock Tracks
Sync-Lock Tracks can be turned on or off at Tracks > Sync-Lock Tracks or by 
using the Sync-Lock Tracks button The Sync Lock Button in Edit Toolbar. 
Sync-Lock Tracks is off by default. Turning on Sync-Lock Tracks does not 
immediately realign tracks or labels. It forces tracks and labels to remain 
synchronized if they move after Sync-Lock Tracks is enabled. 
End of excerpt
The sync lock item is in the Tracks Menu.  Even after reading much more of the 
manual and playing with the feature, I am still not completely clear on how it 
works.  On Windows the screen reader announces when a track is sync locked, but 
I haven't checked on the Mac.


Andrew


On 9/12/2016 7:33 PM, Thomas Byskov Dalgaard wrote:
Hi Andrew!
 
That makes almost sense to me now, so if I used synclock tracks how do I define 
the group of tracks? It sounds like I am doing something wrong when I just 
select the tracks, and then choose to synclock them, or am I actually doing 
something right here? :) If I understand this correctly this feature would be 
great when adding effects such as compression to multiple tracks without 
affecting all tracks in the project.
 
Best regards Thomas
 

Sendt fra min iPhone via Braille Sense U2/MBraille

Den 9. dec. 2016 kl. 08.50 skrev Andrew Downie <access_tech@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx 
<mailto:access_tech@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx> >:
Hi Thomas
 
I think I understand the sync lock feature correctly from a quick read of the 
Manual and brief experimentation. Once you have sync locked tracks, you don't 
have to select more than one in the group to apply whatever you do to a 
selected one to others in the group.  Because you selected two tracks, deleting 
a portion would remove it from both tracks regardless of whether sync lock is 
turned on or off.
 
Now to your second question.  Think of Audacity a bit like a word processor.  
Let's assume you moved your cursor to one minute into the track,  selected some 
audio and deleted it.  Your cursor will still be at that point.  To hear 
earlier audio you will have to move the cursor to the left.  On the other hand, 
if you play from the beginning and stop by pressing the spacebar, next time you 
press the spacebar to play it will start from the beginning because you have 
not moved the cursor.
 
 
Andrew
 
 
On 9/12/2016 9:41 AM, Thomas Byskov Dalgaard wrote:
Hi!
 
Sorry for this (perhaps) newbie question, but I believe I have misunderstood 
something for ages regarding Audacity, so can someone please tell me how the 
following is possible?
I have given the 2.1 release of Audacity a testdrive on my Mac, and it works 
quite well so far, so these questions can hopefuly be answered by anyone... 
 
I imported three files to Audacity and selected two of the three tracks. Now 
everytime I remove something from the selected tracks it just works without 
having to synclock tracks... Why is that?
I thought I had to synclock tracks before making that kind of edits.., but it 
looks like something has changed much here since I last played with Audacity 
for real. :)
Why should one now use the synclock tracks option if Audacity does this by 
default?
Another thing, which I always forget when I revisit Audacity is why the cursor 
jumps to the start of an edit... Suppose I have deleted a few seconds into a 
file and when I playback the audio, I hear from the position of my edit. I have 
to press the left arrow and then move the cursor backwards again to hear more 
of the audio... Can I change this or how did some of you get use to this?
Thanks in advance fonyr advice.
 
Best regards Thomas


Sendt fra min iPhone via Braille Sense U2/MBraille
 
 

Other related posts: