[astronomyed] [Fwd: Web-Based Seminars Announced to Support the 2008 Young Scientist Challenge]

  • From: Mary-Frances Bartels <ki0dz@xxxxxxxx>
  • To: astronomyed@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
  • Date: Fri, 18 Apr 2008 16:36:12 -0400


--
Mary-Frances Bartels  ***  ki0dz@xxxxxxxx      (((#)))   ^     ^
www.RudolphsRabbitRanch.com     Central Ohio      |       ^ - ^
Watkins Products www.watkinsonline.com #092389 -------    (o o)
Internet ONLY $9.99/mo. **Free accelerator**   |ooOoo|  >{  |  }<
http://continue.to/internet                    -------         RRR)*
--- Begin Message ---
  • From: "NASA Education" <education@xxxxxxxx>
  • To: ki0dz@xxxxxxxx
  • Date: Fri, 18 Apr 2008 16:20:16 -0400
NASA is pleased to announce that Discovery Communications and 3M are
launching a series of Web-based seminars to encourage and support
participation by teachers and students in the 2008 Discovery Education/
3M Young Scientist Challenge, hosted by NASA. Any teacher or student
from anywhere in the world can log onto these free webinars.

 

There will be two sets of webinars, one for students and one for
educators. The student webinars will cover the basics of creating and
uploading videos for the challenge. Students will learn how to create
videos from cell phones, cameras or webcams. They will learn to edit
with or without computers. Most importantly, they will learn that
enthusiasm, problem-solving and communication skills are key to winning
the Challenge.

 

The webinars focused on teachers will give an overview of the same
skill sets as the student webinars, but the teachers will also be given
an overview of the student competition. With this information, teachers
can encourage students to enter. The teacher webinars, like the
Challenge, will be exclusively for the teachers in the Discovery
Educator Network. ( Becoming a member is easy and registration is free.
To become a member, visit http://community.discoveryeducation.com/about
/become_discovery_educator.)

 

Webinars (Student Target Audience)

April 21, Monday, 1 p.m. CDT (2 p.m. EDT)

April 22, Tuesday, noon CDT (1 p.m. EDT)

April 23, Wednesday, 2 p.m. CDT (3 p.m. EDT)

 

Webinars (DEN Teacher Audience)

April 23, Wednesday, 5 p.m. CDT (6 p.m. EDT)

April 30, Wednesday, 7 p.m. CDT (8 p.m. EDT)

May 6, Tuesday, 5 p.m. CDT (6 EDT)

 

To register for the any of these free webinars, visit https://
discoveryed.webex.com/mw0305l/mywebex/default.do?siteurl=discoveryed&
service=6.

 

For more information about the Young Scientist Challenge, visit http://
www.discoveryeducation.com/youngscientist. Questions about the
competition may be sent to YSC@xxxxxxxxxxxxx

 

-------------------------------------------
EXPRESS
Modify Your Subscription: 
http://www.listbox.com/member/?member_id=9749587&id_secret=101920686-5c70da
Unsubscribe Now: 
http://www.listbox.com/unsubscribe/?member_id=9749587&id_secret=100277682-d55e31
Powered by Listbox: http://www.listbox.com
No virus found in this incoming message.
Checked by AVG.
Version: 7.5.519 / Virus Database: 269.23.1/1385 - Release Date: 4/18/2008 9:30 
AM

--- End Message ---

Other related posts:

  • » [astronomyed] [Fwd: Web-Based Seminars Announced to Support the 2008 Young Scientist Challenge]