[accesscomp] Fw: Accessible World Tek Talk Presents SoundPost, December 14, 2009

  • From: "Bob Acosta" <boacosta@xxxxxxxxxxx>
  • To: "access comp" <accesscomp@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • Date: Wed, 9 Dec 2009 09:59:52 -0800

----- Original Message ----- 
From: "Shiela & Bob Wilhite" <wilhites@xxxxxxxxx>
To: "Bob Acosta" <boacosta@xxxxxxxxxxx>
Sent: Monday, December 07, 2009 12:43 PM
Subject: Accessible World Tek Talk Presents SoundPost, December 14, 2009


News Wire

Monday December 14th, 2009,Tek Talk presents Larry Lewis, President Flying 
Blind LLC and Darryl Sherwood, founder of Povidi NZ LTD who will demonstrate 
the SoundPost Orientation System. SoundPost picks up where other GPS and 
Mobility aids leave off by providing a fundamental level of orientation to a 
variety of objects throughout one’s environment. Consisting of a base 
station and a hand controller, SoundPost enables users to independently and 
efficiently navigate to doorways, staircases escalators, etc, traveling 
across complex open spaces to where the base station resides and reaching 
their desired location.

Sherwood and Lewis will discuss their plans for SoundPost in a variety of 
education, corporate, and residential settings, and will spend time fielding 
questions about the viability of such an approach to orientation and 
navigation.

Larry L. Lewis, Jr.
Email: larry.lewis@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Date:  Monday, December 14th, 2009.

Time:  5:00 PM PST, 6:00 PM MDT, 7:00 PM CST, and 8:00 PM EST
           and elsewhere in the world Tuesday 1:00 GMT

Approximately 15 minutes prior to the event start time; go to The Pat Price 
Tek Talk Training Room at:

http://conference321.com/masteradmin/room.asp?id=rsc9613dc89eb2

Or, alternatively.

Select The Pat Price Tek Talk Training Room at: www.accessibleworld.org
Enter your first and last names on the sign-in screen.

All Tek Talk training events are recorded so if you are unable to 
participate live at the above times then you may download the presentation 
or podcast from the Tek Talk archives on our website at 
www.accessibleworld.org

If you are a first-time user of the Talking Communities online conferencing 
software, there is a small, safe software program that you need to download 
and then run. A link to the software is available on every entry screen to 
the Accessible World online rooms.

All online interactive programs require no password, are free of charge, and 
open to anyone worldwide having an Internet connection, a computer, 
speakers, and a sound card. Those with microphones can interact audibly with 
the presenters and others in the virtual audience or text chat with the 
attendees. To speak to us, hold down the control key and talk; then let up 
to listen.

Sign up information for all Accessible World News Wires and discussion lists 
are also available at our websitewww.accessibleworld.org/mailinglists

Accessible World Contacts:

Robert Acosta, Chair
Accessible World
818-998-0044
Email: boacosta@xxxxxxxxxxx
Web: www.helpinghands4theblind.org

Joann Becker, Events Coordinator
Accessible World
617-969-1213
Email: joannbecker@xxxxxxxxxxxx

George Buys, CEO
Talking Communities
Email: buys@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

The Accessible World, a division of Helping Hands For The Blind, a 501(c)(3) 
not-for-profit organization, seeks to educate the general public, the 
disabled community and the professionals who serve them by providing highly 
relevant information about new products, services, and training 
opportunities designed specifically to eliminate geographic and access 
barriers that adversely affect them. 

Other related posts: