[webproducers] Re: client project hours software

huh??

handango has been around for years
I just poked around the site to see if there was any activeX or javascript
hacks on it - so far I saw nothing - a couple of questions I might ask -
what browser, do you have any personal information saved on that browser
(ex. autofill). if not autofill data - then I suggest you download spybot
S&D from http://security.kolla.de, then also make sure your antivirus is up
to date.

and - PROTEST THE CHARGES
find out from you bank in person exactly when and from what company the
charges came from.
maybe its another autopayment that you've forgotten for something else - if
it's still from this site
I'm going to bet that handango has a direct number - lookup on whois (
http://www.whois.sc/ ) and find a number. call them and ask them to verify
your IP that the charge came from (assuming it was from them) and based on
all that - if they were the ones to charge you - if you got your personal
system hacked and they have seen CC info in the past - then they might have
followed you around saw you went to that site and found something they
wanted - but again - maybe it's just some recurring autopayment you have
that you didn't recognize - ultimately - go to you back in person and find
out what exactly that charge is - otherwise you'll just drive yourself nuts
- if you do find out that your system was hacked - feel free to email me
back offlist and I'll talk you through finding out what might be stealing
your info. 

> -----Original Message-----
> From: webproducers-bounce@xxxxxxxxxxxxx 
> [mailto:webproducers-bounce@xxxxxxxxxxxxx] On Behalf Of AVWDC@xxxxxxx
> Sent: Thursday, April 22, 2004 4:38 PM
> To: webproducers@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
> Subject: [webproducers] Re: client project hours software
> 
> Today,  I followed a link from the list to Handango. I looked 
> at the home 
> page and performed a search for "time tracking software".  I 
> didn't see anything 
> of interest and left the site.  Shockingly, I was just 
> checking banking online 
> and saw a charge for $ 59.95 for software  I didn't purchase 
> much less fill 
> out any forms.  Obviously there is something criminal taking 
> place.  So I state 
> this as a warning for anyone else who might be curious and 
> following that 
> link.  Of course the company has no customer service than an 
> online form.  Please 
> be careful, I would hate to see this happen to anyone else.
> 
> Deb Huenke
> 
> 
> 
> 
> 
> 
> ______________________________________________________________
> ____________
> To unsubscribe send a blank message with unsubscribe in the 
> subject to webproducers-request@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
> 
> To access our webform to subscribe, unsubscribe, and manage 
> your subscription (digest and vacation)  visit  www.WebProducers.org. 
> 
> The WPO list is a public discussion forum with a public 
> archive at www.WebProducers.org. Be sure to trim your posts 
> and delete personal information such as telephone numbers if 
> you do not want them as part of the archive.
> 
> 

__________________________________________________________________________
To unsubscribe send a blank message with unsubscribe in the subject to 
webproducers-request@xxxxxxxxxxxxx

To access our webform to subscribe, unsubscribe, and manage your subscription 
(digest and vacation)  visit  www.WebProducers.org. 

The WPO list is a public discussion forum with a public archive at 
www.WebProducers.org. Be sure to trim your posts and delete personal 
information such as telephone numbers if you do not want them as part of the 
archive.

Other related posts: