-=PCTechTalk=- Re: Scam?

sure sounds like a scan - maybe spyware on your computer 
sending that message. Did you search microsoft's data base 
for information on it?
Cris
----- Original Message ----- 
From: DH (Rick) Holmes
To: PCTT
Sent: Thursday, October 28, 2004 11:19 PM
Subject: -=PCTechTalk=- Scam?


I went out leaving my machine switched on and on line.  On 
return I have
an alert telling me I have a problem.  There was something 
about 'buffer
over-run' and that all recent Windows except Me and XPPro 
were
affected,  To download the 'fix' a URL was indicated. I went 
to the URL,
which was <www.windowspatch.net>  There the problem was 
repeated, and
the download would cost $US19.95.

This does not sound like Microsoft to me, and I took it no 
further.

Anyone else so affected?  Is it a con?  It seems like it to 
me.
Cheers
Rick
To unsub or change your email settings:
http://www.freelists.org/webpage/pctechtalk

To access our Archives:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/PCTechTalk/messages/
http://www.freelists.org/archives/pctechtalk/

For more info:
http://www.freelists.org/cgi-bin/list?list_id=pctechtalk 


To unsub or change your email settings:
http://www.freelists.org/webpage/pctechtalk

To access our Archives:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/PCTechTalk/messages/
http://www.freelists.org/archives/pctechtalk/

For more info:
http://www.freelists.org/cgi-bin/list?list_id=pctechtalk

Other related posts: