-=PCTechTalk=- Re: Firefox Addons

Unduly cautious?  Heck no!  But this one is likely a situation that you can 
safely ignore once you understand why it's coming up.

If I'm recalling correctly, that warning has to do with the site's lack of 
an updated security certificate.  It's not the idea that the author of the 
extension is unknown, but that the download site (mozilla) cannot be readily 
confirmed by your security software.  Their cert has likely expired (they're 
only good for a certain amount of time), so that specific warning is issued 
by your own computer to you, the user, to make you aware of that.  The lack 
of an up to date cert does not automatically mean that the site is 
untrustworthy.  If that seems to make sense compared to the warning you're 
getting, ignore it when downloading from the Mozilla site.

The extensions are all hosted on a secure server (which is why the cert is 
being looked at by your system), but that also ensures that they cannot be 
tampered with.

Peace,
Gman

http://www.thevenusproject.com/index.php

"The only dumb questions are the ones we fail to ask"

----- Original Message ----- 
From: "Sandi Beach" <sandib2@xxxxxxxxx>
To: "pctechtalk" <pctechtalk@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Sent: Wednesday, July 29, 2009 12:21 PM
Subject: -=PCTechTalk=- Firefox Addons


>I just read an article in PC World recommending Inquisitor, an addon that
> will speed up searches.
> I looked it up in the addons and, while there, read about several others
> that sounded interesting.  I backed off of GMail Manager after reading
> reviews.  I started to download Smarter Fox which had excellent reviews 
> but
> the pop up warning said the author is unknown.  This popup occurred on a
> couple of other things I started to add.
> Am I being unduly cautious?
> Sandi 

---------------------------------------------------------------
Please remember to trim your replies (including this sentence and everything 
below it) and adjust the subject line as necessary.

To subscribe, unsubscribe or modify your email settings:
http://www.freelists.org/webpage/pctechtalk
OR
To subscribe to the mailing list, send an email to 
pctechtalk-request@xxxxxxxxxxxxx with "subscribe" in the Subject. To 
unsubscribe send email to pctechtalk-request@xxxxxxxxxxxxx with "unsubscribe" 
in the Subject.

To access our Archives:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/PCTechTalk/messages/
http://www.freelists.org/archives/pctechtalk/

To contact only the PCTT Mod Squad, write to:
pctechtalk-moderators@xxxxxxxxxxxxx

To join our separate PCTableTalk off-topic group, send a blank email to:
pctabletalk+subscribe@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
---------------------------------------------------------------

Other related posts: