-=PCTechTalk=- Fake Gmail notice
- From: Gman <gman.pctt@xxxxxxxxx>
- To: "PCTechTalk Group <FreeLists>" <PCTechTalk@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
- Date: Tue, 31 Mar 2009 17:00:08 -0400
A friend of mine received a Gmail notice saying that they were updating
their servers due to a virus infection and that all subscribers must provide
their username/password for verification or they would lose their account.
This, along with ANY warning message like it, is bogus.
No entity that already has your username/password (& PIN number, if
applicable) will EVER ask you to reveal those things over the phone, in an
email or by any other method. They have other means to 'know it's really
you', such as the 'secret question' you answered when you signed up.
It's almost April Fool's day, so these warnings will probably be all over
the place. Be careful out there, Kids. :)
Peace,
Gman
http://www.bornagainamerican.org
"The only dumb questions are the ones we fail to ask"
---------------------------------------------------------------
Please remember to trim your replies (including this sentence and everything
below it) and adjust the subject line as necessary.
To subscribe, unsubscribe or modify your email settings:
http://www.freelists.org/webpage/pctechtalk
To access our Archives:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/PCTechTalk/messages/
http://www.freelists.org/archives/pctechtalk/
To contact only the PCTT Mod Squad, write to:
pctechtalk-moderators@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
To join the PCTableTalk off-topic group, send a blank email to:
pctabletalk+subscribe@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
---------------------------------------------------------------
Other related posts:
- » -=PCTechTalk=- Fake Gmail notice - Gman