[pchelpers] Re: bouncing mail
- From: Scott McNay <Wizard@xxxxxxxx>
- To: PcCowboy <pchelpers@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
- Date: Sat, 28 Jun 2003 01:52:52 -0500
Hi PcCowboy,
A hard bounce usually means the user or the domain doesn't exist; the
error message that you quoted would do that.
The email address saddle@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx does exist, even if you
never see it; email that it receives is either sent via SMTP to
saddle@xxxxxxxx or else wtrt.net polls it via POP3.
Take a look at the header of your message, the one that I'm replying
to right now:
Received: from mail.wtrt.net (ns1.wtrt.net [208.246.8.5])
by turing.freelists.org (Avenir Technologies Mail Multiplex) with ESMTP
id 50A6C390A72
for <pchelpers@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>; Sat, 28 Jun 2003 00:25:34 -0500 (EST)
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1])
by mail.wtrt.net (Postfix) with ESMTP id 139602378B9
for <pchelpers@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>; Sat, 28 Jun 2003 00:33:11 -0500 (CDT)
Received: from mail.wtrt.net ([127.0.0.1])
by localhost (mail.wtrt.net [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP
id 25848-03 for <pchelpers@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>;
Sat, 28 Jun 2003 00:33:10 -0500 (CDT)
Received: from daddy (custob2.wtrt.net [65.212.210.3])
by mail.wtrt.net (Postfix) with SMTP id D717C2378B0
for <pchelpers@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>; Sat, 28 Jun 2003 00:33:10 -0500 (CDT)
From: "PcCowboy" <saddle@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
X-original-sender: saddle@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Well, your computer name is "daddy" (good thing you didn't name it
something more interesting, eh?), and you're sending emails from
"saddle@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx", so obviously it DOES know about that
email address, else it wouldn't accept them.
--Scott.
Saturday, June 28, 2003, 12:33:42 AM, you wrote:
P> maybe if I start from the beginning step by step I can present
P> a clearer case.
P> I get an e-mail from yahoo saying that I need to reactivate my account,
P> cause it has been shut down because of my e-mail address was bouncing
P> their mail back. If I could read this e-mail then the problem must have
P> been fix and to click on the link provided to activate my account again.
P> I click on the link and click the box telling them to start sending me my
P> posts
P> again. Now I'm taken to a page that shows my bounce history.
P> The address saddle@xxxxxxxx shows four hard bounces 1 on 5/28
P> 1 on 6/5 1 on 6/10 and 1 on 6/26
P> saddle@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx has no bounces ( It shouldn't cause mail doesn't
P> go to that address)
P> Below that it shows the last message that bounce. Which is what I copied and
P> pasted. It had no TO:, FROM: or headers to show.
P> You see my problem? Why does it has saddle@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx in the
P> message
P> when my yahoo mail don't go to that address?
P> That why I'm wondering if MailWasher has something to do with it. It sends
P> out a message
P> to ones on my blacklist that saddle@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx don't exist. I
P> wondering if
P> one of my yahoo groups got place on my blacklist. I can't see anyone from
P> the group in the list.
P> Like tonight I open MailWasher and in my e-mail their was 15 messages from
P> my yahoo groups
P> all marked friends, but I found one yahoo message mark as blacklisted. Don't
P> know how that happened.
P> Pc
>> You didn't show the TO: or FROM: addresses, but you do mention
>> YahooGroups and saddle@xxxxxxxxx Neither is mentioned at all in the
>> body that you quoted, so I must assume that the message is addressed
>> from YahooGroups to saddle@xxxxxxxxx If this is incorrect, then you
>> may be making a false assumption somewhere.
>>
>> I think it would help if you posted the entire message, including the
>> headers. "X" out anything that you'd prefer not be public. As it is,
>> it just looks puzzling to me.
>>
>> Anyway, it looks like mx1.lewissaddleshop.com is complaining that the user
>> "saddle" at lewissaddleshop.com isn't recognized for some reason. It
>> kinda looks like it's talking to itself, which is the part that I
>> don't understand, especially since you say that the message is from
P> Regards, John Durham (list moderator)
<http://modecideas.com/contact.html?sig>
P> Freelists login at http://www.freelists.org/cgi-bin/lsg2.cgi
P> List archives at http://www.freelists.org/archives/pchelpers
P> PC-HELPERS list subscribe/unsub at http://modecideas.com/discuss.htm?sig
P> Good advice is like good paint- it only works if applied.
--Scott.
Regards, John Durham (list moderator) <http://modecideas.com/contact.html?sig>
Freelists login at http://www.freelists.org/cgi-bin/lsg2.cgi
List archives at http://www.freelists.org/archives/pchelpers
PC-HELPERS list subscribe/unsub at http://modecideas.com/discuss.htm?sig
Good advice is like good paint- it only works if applied.
- References:
- [pchelpers] bouncing mail
- From: PcCowboy
- [pchelpers] Re: bouncing mail
- From: Scott McNay
- [pchelpers] Re: bouncing mail
- From: PcCowboy
- [pchelpers] Re: bouncing mail
- From: Scott McNay
- [pchelpers] Re: bouncing mail
- From: PcCowboy
Other related posts:
- [pchelpers] bouncing mail
- From: PcCowboy
- [pchelpers] Re: bouncing mail
- From: Scott McNay
- [pchelpers] Re: bouncing mail
- From: PcCowboy
- [pchelpers] Re: bouncing mail
- From: Scott McNay
- [pchelpers] Re: bouncing mail
- From: PcCowboy