[pchelpers] Re: Password Problem
- From: "Louis M Hall" <louhall21@xxxxxxxxxxx>
- To: <pchelpers@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
- Date: Mon, 27 Jul 2009 22:53:37 -0500
----- Original Message -----
From: "John Durham" <john.modec@xxxxxxxxxx>
To: <pchelpers@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Sent: Monday, July 27, 2009 8:33 PM
Subject: [pchelpers] Re: Password Problem
> Louis M Hall wrote:
>> There is a WWW site that I have gone to on a regular basis for ten years.
>> Out of the blue, when I click onto that site, I am requested to post a
>> user
>> name and password. This is a local government site. This address is
>> listed
>> in a link folder. When I point to the icon for this link a reminder
>> appears
>> above it's address which states, "You are not authorized
>> to visit this site." This is before I click the icon. It makes me suspect
>> that I have inadvertently blocked this address. This is an XP computer. I
>> have another old computer
>> with Windows 95. When I attempt to link to that address on that computer,
>> I
>> get the
>> same message, "You are not authorized to visit this site" ??????????????
>> Each computer is connected to a modem from comcast.net.
>> Is there something in the operating system that allows the blocking of
>> an
>> address even beforethe computer tries to link up with that address?
>>
>> The site is:
>>
>> www.assessor.shelby.tn.us.
>>
>> The message is a form that is not within that site. It appears to be a
>> Microsoft box with a
>> couple of keys imaged on it requesting a user name and password.
>>
>> Thanks.
> It is possible the server is picking up your IP or other identifiable
> information to compare with a black list.
> That or it caters to a small and exclusive list of people. Most such
> sites have a membership with personal login page.
> Does your situation or the site behavior suggest this?
> --
It appears that Mr. Hansen may have it right in that he found he couldn't
link into anything
of those sites within the large domain that I am referencing. It appears
that my being blocked is
not by this domain. It may be at my cabel server not my computer, but I
think it is significant that Mr. Hansen was asked for a password when he
clicked onto any site that came up from
his google site.
I can't think of any actions on my part that would give reason to my being
blocked by this assessor office as they claim to 45 million hits during the
last approximately ten years. I would
be nothing to them as this address appears to be only a read only site.
Thanks,
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
--
-------list-services-below-----------
Regards, John Durham (list moderator) <http://modecideas.com/contact.html?sig>
Freelists login at http://www.freelists.org/cgi-bin/lsg2.cgi
List archives at http://www.freelists.org/archives/pchelpers
PC-HELPERS list subscribe/unsub at http://modecideas.com/discuss.htm?sig
Latest news live feeds at http://modecideas.com/indexhomenews.htm?sig
Good advice is like good paint- it only works if applied.
Other related posts: