[pchelpers] Re: Is this a scam? -- Best Buy
- From: "tactilelady" <penwal1@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
- To: <pchelpers@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
- Date: Sat, 21 Jun 2003 01:32:31 -0700
Bravo! Another bulldog....good girl!
Pen
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
> Our local TV news station did a brief segment on this warning people in
our state about this. A web site was given to the State's Attorney General
and a toll-free number ... who has paper and pen handy when they need it?!
So since this was probably a current news item, I checked on the internet
and did find this:
> http://www.wesh.com/technology/2280318/detail.html
> Best Buy Warns Of Fraudulent E-Mail
> POSTED: 8:42 a.m. EDT June 19, 2003
>
> RICHFIELD, Minn. -- Best Buy says it received thousands of calls Wednesday
about a fake e-mail claiming to be from the Best Buy.com Fraud Department.
>
> The e-mail requests personal information, including Social Security and
credit card numbers. Company spokeswoman Dawn Bryant says the message was
not from the company and people should not respond to it.
>
> Bryant says Best Buy is working with authorities to resolve the situation.
>
>
> Bryant says people should contact their bank or credit card company if
they think they've been taken advantage of. You can also contact the
credit-reporting bureaus:
> a.. Equifax, (800) 525-6285
> b.. Experian, (888) 397-3742
> c.. TransUnion, (800) 680-7289
>
> Anyone with questions about transactions with Best Buy.com can call (888)
237-8289.
>
>
> The fraudulent e-mails sent to consumers read as follows:
>
>
> Dear customer,
>
> Recently we have received an order made by using your personal credit card
information.
> This order was made online at our official BestBuy website on 06/19/2003.
> Our Fraud Department has some suspicions regarding this order and we need
you to visit a
> special Fraud Department page at our web store where you can confirm or
decline this
> transaction by providing us with the correct information.
> This e-mail address has been taken from National Credit Bureau.
>
> Click the link below to visit a special Fraud Department page to resolve
the cause of the problem.
> BestBuy.com/fraud_department.html
>
>
Regards, John Durham (list moderator) <http://modecideas.com/contact.html?sig>
Freelists login at http://www.freelists.org/cgi-bin/lsg2.cgi
List archives at http://www.freelists.org/archives/pchelpers
PC-HELPERS list subscribe/unsub at http://modecideas.com/discuss.htm?sig
Good advice is like good paint- it only works if applied.
- References:
- [pchelpers] Is this a scam?
- From: Louis M Hall
- [pchelpers] Re: Is this a scam?
- From: CJ Setcer
- [pchelpers] Re: Is this a scam? -- Best Buy
- From: Deb
Other related posts:
- » [pchelpers] Re: Is this a scam? -- Best Buy
- » [pchelpers] Re: Is this a scam? -- Best Buy
- [pchelpers] Is this a scam?
- From: Louis M Hall
- [pchelpers] Re: Is this a scam?
- From: CJ Setcer
- [pchelpers] Re: Is this a scam? -- Best Buy
- From: Deb