[pchelpers] Re: Is this a scam? -- Best Buy
- From: "Deb" <debpf@xxxxxxxxxxx>
- To: <pchelpers@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
- Date: Fri, 20 Jun 2003 22:23:45 -0500
Our local TV news station did a brief segment on this warning people in our
state about this. A web site was given to the State's Attorney General and a
toll-free number ... who has paper and pen handy when they need it?! So since
this was probably a current news item, I checked on the internet and did find
this:
http://www.wesh.com/technology/2280318/detail.html
Best Buy Warns Of Fraudulent E-Mail
POSTED: 8:42 a.m. EDT June 19, 2003
RICHFIELD, Minn. -- Best Buy says it received thousands of calls Wednesday
about a fake e-mail claiming to be from the Best Buy.com Fraud Department.
The e-mail requests personal information, including Social Security and credit
card numbers. Company spokeswoman Dawn Bryant says the message was not from the
company and people should not respond to it.
Bryant says Best Buy is working with authorities to resolve the situation.
Bryant says people should contact their bank or credit card company if they
think they've been taken advantage of. You can also contact the
credit-reporting bureaus:
a.. Equifax, (800) 525-6285
b.. Experian, (888) 397-3742
c.. TransUnion, (800) 680-7289
Anyone with questions about transactions with Best Buy.com can call (888)
237-8289.
The fraudulent e-mails sent to consumers read as follows:
Dear customer,
Recently we have received an order made by using your personal credit card
information.
This order was made online at our official BestBuy website on 06/19/2003.
Our Fraud Department has some suspicions regarding this order and we need you
to visit a
special Fraud Department page at our web store where you can confirm or decline
this
transaction by providing us with the correct information.
This e-mail address has been taken from National Credit Bureau.
Click the link below to visit a special Fraud Department page to resolve the
cause of the problem.
BestBuy.com/fraud_department.html
----- Original Message -----
From: CJ Setcer
To: pchelpers@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
Sent: Thursday, June 19, 2003 5:35 PM
Subject: [pchelpers] Re: Is this a scam?
It is one of the most clever spammer tricks I have ever seen!
Regards, John Durham (list moderator) <http://modecideas.com/contact.html?sig>
Freelists login at http://www.freelists.org/cgi-bin/lsg2.cgi
List archives at http://www.freelists.org/archives/pchelpers
PC-HELPERS list subscribe/unsub at http://modecideas.com/discuss.htm?sig
Good advice is like good paint- it only works if applied.
- Follow-Ups:
- [pchelpers] Re: Is this a scam? -- Best Buy
- From: tactilelady
- References:
- [pchelpers] Is this a scam?
- From: Louis M Hall
- [pchelpers] Re: Is this a scam?
- From: CJ Setcer
Other related posts:
- » [pchelpers] Re: Is this a scam? -- Best Buy
- » [pchelpers] Re: Is this a scam? -- Best Buy
- [pchelpers] Re: Is this a scam? -- Best Buy
- From: tactilelady
- [pchelpers] Is this a scam?
- From: Louis M Hall
- [pchelpers] Re: Is this a scam?
- From: CJ Setcer