[pchelpers] Re: Is this a scam?

Hi Louis,

Wednesday, June 18, 2003, 8:07:13 PM, you wrote:

SM> Question, was it an HTML email?  If so, then the link that appeared to
SM> have been for BestBuy could have actually gone to a different site.
SM> If you're not sure, then just forward it to me (as an attachment, if
SM> possible) and I can look at it.

Ok, here's the HTML code. As you can see, you're seeing one thing but
the link is different. So, I'd say that yes you were indeed trying to
talk to a fraud department, except this one was committing fraud.

The domain appears to be gone.

*********************

National Credit Bureau. <BR> <BR>Click the link below to visit a
special Fraud Department page to resolve the cause of the problem.
<BR><A href="http://www.digitalgamma.com/fraud.html";>
http://www.BestBuy.com/fraud_department.html</A></FONT></DIV>
<DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2>

*********************

--Scott.

Regards, John Durham (list moderator) <http://modecideas.com/contact.html?sig>
Freelists login at http://www.freelists.org/cgi-bin/lsg2.cgi
List archives at http://www.freelists.org/archives/pchelpers
PC-HELPERS list subscribe/unsub at http://modecideas.com/discuss.htm?sig
Good advice is like good paint- it only works if applied.

Other related posts: