[pchelpers] Re: Is this a scam?
- From: "Robert Weyer" <rweyer@xxxxxxxxx>
- To: <pchelpers@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
- Date: Wed, 18 Jun 2003 19:30:51 -0500
Thanks for the heads up.
Bob Weyer
----- Original Message -----
From: "Louis M Hall" <lhall1@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
To: <pchelpers@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Sent: Wednesday, June 18, 2003 5:03 PM
Subject: [pchelpers] Is this a scam?
> AN EMAIL I RECEIVED. ???????????????????///
>
> "Dear customer,
>
> Recently we have received an order made by using your personal credit card
> information.
> This order was made online at our official BestBuy website on 06/17/2003.
> Our Fraud Department has some suspicions regarding this order and we need
> you to visit a special Fraud Department page at our web store where you
can
> confirm or decline this transaction by providing us with the correct
> information.
> This e-mail address has been taken from National Credit Bureau.
>
> Click the link below to visit a special Fraud Department page to resolve
the
> cause of the problem.
> http://www.BestBuy.com/fraud_department.html
> *************************************
> This is what I received at an email address that I would never us for
> anything of a serious nature. It looked exactly like the Best Buy site.
> There was nothing in the email that used my name. Just said someone a
month
> ago was trying to purchase this on
> 6/17/2003. I monitor my credit card purchases carefully and nothing is out
> of line.
>
> But at the link there were questions wanting my name, postal address,
email
> address, etc, then a continue button which did not work without answering
> questions on the
> first page.
>
> I did a reply from the same unused email address with my phone number and
a
> few pertinent questions. I just said, if you want me, call me.
>
> I batted zero in trying to get a response from best buy, just a lot of
push
> 6,3,5,3, then,6,4,3,, on and on.
>
> Any comments?
>
> Louis
>
> Regards, John Durham (list moderator)
<http://modecideas.com/contact.html?sig>
> Freelists login at http://www.freelists.org/cgi-bin/lsg2.cgi
> List archives at http://www.freelists.org/archives/pchelpers
> PC-HELPERS list subscribe/unsub at http://modecideas.com/discuss.htm?sig
> Good advice is like good paint- it only works if applied.
>
Regards, John Durham (list moderator) <http://modecideas.com/contact.html?sig>
Freelists login at http://www.freelists.org/cgi-bin/lsg2.cgi
List archives at http://www.freelists.org/archives/pchelpers
PC-HELPERS list subscribe/unsub at http://modecideas.com/discuss.htm?sig
Good advice is like good paint- it only works if applied.
- References:
- [pchelpers] Is this a scam?
- From: Louis M Hall
Other related posts:
- » [pchelpers] Is this a scam?
- » [pchelpers] Re: Is this a scam?
- » [pchelpers] Re: Is this a scam?
- » [pchelpers] Re: Is this a scam?
- » [pchelpers] Re: Is this a scam?
- » [pchelpers] Re: Is this a scam?
- » [pchelpers] Re: Is this a scam?
- [pchelpers] Is this a scam?
- From: Louis M Hall