[pchelpers] Re: Domain interest???
- From: Susan <starquest@xxxxxxxxxxx>
- To: pchelpers@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
- Date: Tue, 12 May 2009 23:06:02 -0700
Did you ever get this one resolved, John? I know a few domain
registrars out there who are unscrupulous. A friend of ours got an
email from one company telling them they were "almost done" registering
their domain name with their company. The email then gave detailed
instructions on how to unlock their domain and transfer it over to their
company. Problem is, her domain was fine where it was and she hadn't
initiated anything with them. This email just came to her out of the
blue. Their email looked so legitimate, as though this was the "final
step" in a process she had initiated. The company does provide a
legitimate service with domain registration; however, after googling
their company, I found many complaints have been lodged against it,
especially how they obtain new domains through their false and
misleading emails (and snail mails too). This company has been around a
long time too, which is scary!
Of course, that's not to say that's what happened in your case but it
reminded me how some do try to steal your domain.
Susan
John Durham wrote:
> I just tried to visit enom to register my domain (modecideas.com) which
> has been on their system for years. Had no joy logging in, so I went to
> their help pages. There, I found the following information:
>
>
>
--
-------list-services-below-----------
Regards, John Durham (list moderator) <http://modecideas.com/contact.html?sig>
Freelists login at http://www.freelists.org/cgi-bin/lsg2.cgi
List archives at http://www.freelists.org/archives/pchelpers
PC-HELPERS list subscribe/unsub at http://modecideas.com/discuss.htm?sig
Latest news live feeds at http://modecideas.com/indexhomenews.htm?sig
Good advice is like good paint- it only works if applied.
Other related posts: