[pchelpers] Re: Be on your Guard all pchelpers in the UK (and elsewhere if you bank with Barclays UK)

Hi Nigel

> Just had an email from someone pretending to be barclays bank saying 
> that I as one of their customers (Im not!!) need to enter my account 
> details as there was an issue they said they saw on my account (which is 
> non existent!!!) The subject is Barclays Bank Update and the sender is 
> services@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx
> 
> The Link they have within the email is www.barclays.co.uk but when you 
> do a mouseover on that link and look in the bottom left corner of the 
> email window the actual address is http://www-barclays-uk.net
> 
> The good thing about this is that if you are using tbird it will warn 
> you that the link looks suspicious so you will be protected as long as 
> you dont click on the link.

Since the link shown in the mouseover did not have any numbers or 
anything else that looked like it was a unique way of identifying you 
and verifying your address, i tried it out and it seems the site has 
already been shut down.

Barclay's has a pretty good security site explaining all kinds of email 
and other online fraud and ways to stay safe:
http://www.personal.barclays.co.uk/BRC1/jsp/brccontrol?site=pfs&task=channelFWgroup&value=8722&target=_self



-- 
-------list-services-below-----------
Regards, John Durham (list moderator) <http://modecideas.com/contact.html?sig>
Freelists login at http://www.freelists.org/cgi-bin/lsg2.cgi
List archives at http://www.freelists.org/archives/pchelpers
PC-HELPERS list subscribe/unsub at http://modecideas.com/discuss.htm?sig
Latest news live feeds at http://modecideas.com/indexhomenews.htm?sig
Good advice is like good paint- it only works if applied.

Other related posts: