RE: Blocking a Specific URL

No, that is an inbound Web page (port 80) request.

-----Original Message-----
From: Thomas W Shinder [mailto:tshinder@xxxxxxxxxxx] 
Sent: Tuesday, January 10, 2006 11:18 PM
To: [ISAserver.org Discussion List]
Subject: [isalist] RE: Blocking a Specific URL

http://www.ISAserver.org

Is this a VPN client connection?

Thomas W Shinder, M.D.
Site: www.isaserver.org
Blog: http://spaces.msn.com/members/drisa/
Book: http://tinyurl.com/3xqb7
MVP -- ISA Firewalls
**Who is John Galt?**

 

> -----Original Message-----
> From: Ball, Dan [mailto:DBall@xxxxxxxxxxx] 
> Sent: Tuesday, January 10, 2006 9:56 PM
> To: [ISAserver.org Discussion List]
> Subject: [isalist] RE: Blocking a Specific URL
> 
> http://www.ISAserver.org
> 
> Strange reaction, something is not right.  When I put that policy in
> place, access to the main web server are also blocked...
> 
> Here is the firewall log for one connection, the source and 
> destination
> network are the same for some reason...
> 
> Original Client IP    Client Agent    Authenticated Client    Service
> Server Name   Referring Server        Destination Host Name
> Transport     MIME Type       Object Source   Source Proxy
> Destination Proxy     Bidirectional   Client Host Name        Filter
> Information   Network Interface       Raw IP Header   Raw Payload
> Source Port   Processing Time Bytes Sent      Bytes Received  Result
> Code  HTTP Status Code        Cache Information       Error
> Information   Log Record Type Log Time        Destination IP
> Destination Port      Protocol        URL     Action  Rule    Client
> IP    Client Username Source Network  Destination Network     HTTP
> Method
> 24.177.165.170                                GATEWAY -       
>       TCP
> -                                             -
> 4050  0       0       0       0x0             0x0     0x0     Firewall
> 1/10/2006 10:50:05 PM 207.75.63.2     80      HTTP    -
> Initiated Connection  Local Only Page Block   24.177.165.170
> External - Charter & Merit Networks   External - Charter & Merit
> Networks      -
> 
> 
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Ball, Dan [mailto:DBall@xxxxxxxxxxx] 
> Sent: Tuesday, January 10, 2006 10:43 PM
> To: [ISAserver.org Discussion List]
> Subject: [isalist] RE: Blocking a Specific URL
> 
> http://www.ISAserver.org
> 
> Still trying to get that working, it's not acting the way I expect.
> 
> The actual URL is more like:
> http://www.domain.org/scripts/program.exe/Service=ProgramB/seplog01.w
> I blocked that URL and this variant of it:
> http://www.domain.org/scripts/program.exe/Service=ProgramB*
> 
> 
> 
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Jim Harrison [mailto:Jim@xxxxxxxxxxxx] 
> Sent: Tuesday, January 10, 2006 2:26 PM
> To: [ISAserver.org Discussion List]
> Subject: [isalist] RE: Blocking a Specific URL
> 
> http://www.ISAserver.org
> 
> That's a very logical approach and yes, it will work. 
> Is there something else as part of "B" that may be more useful?
> 
> -------------------------------------------------------
>    Jim Harrison
>    MCP(NT4, W2K), A+, Network+, PCG
>    http://isaserver.org/Jim_Harrison/
>    http://isatools.org
>    Read the help / books / articles!
> -------------------------------------------------------
>  
> 
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Ball, Dan [mailto:DBall@xxxxxxxxxxx] 
> Sent: Tuesday, January 10, 2006 10:46
> To: [ISAserver.org Discussion List]
> Subject: [isalist] Blocking a Specific URL
> 
> http://www.ISAserver.org
> 
> 
> I'm trying to figure out how to block a specific URL on our Webserver.
> 
>  
> 
> Specifically, our student database uses parameters to access different
> programs instead of different URLs.  
> 
>  
> 
> For example:
> 
> http://www.domain.org/database.exe/parameter=A
> <http://www.domain.org/database.exe/parameter=A>   opens one program,
> while
> 
> http://www.domain.org/database.exe/parameter=B  opens an entirely
> different program.
> 
>  
> 
> I want to leave program A accessible from the Internet, but block
> program B.
> 
>  
> 
> So, I created a firewall access policy on the ISA server 
> denying access
> from External networks to a URL set containing
> http://www.domain.org/database.exe/parameter=B.  
> 
>  
> 
> Is this the best way to do it?
> 
>  
> 
> ------------------------------------------------------
> List Archives: http://www.webelists.com/cgi/lyris.pl?enter=isalist
> ISA Server Newsletter: http://www.isaserver.org/pages/newsletter.asp
> ISA Server FAQ: http://www.isaserver.org/pages/larticle.asp?type=FAQ
> ------------------------------------------------------
> Visit TechGenix.com for more information about our other sites:
> http://www.techgenix.com
> ------------------------------------------------------
> You are currently subscribed to this ISAserver.org Discussion List as:
> jim@xxxxxxxxxxxx To unsubscribe visit
> http://www.webelists.com/cgi/lyris.pl?enter=isalist
> Report abuse to listadmin@xxxxxxxxxxxxx 
> 
> All mail to and from this domain is GFI-scanned.
> 
> 
> ------------------------------------------------------
> List Archives: http://www.webelists.com/cgi/lyris.pl?enter=isalist
> ISA Server Newsletter: http://www.isaserver.org/pages/newsletter.asp
> ISA Server FAQ: http://www.isaserver.org/pages/larticle.asp?type=FAQ
> ------------------------------------------------------
> Visit TechGenix.com for more information about our other sites:
> http://www.techgenix.com
> ------------------------------------------------------
> You are currently subscribed to this ISAserver.org Discussion List as:
> dball@xxxxxxxxxxx
> To unsubscribe visit 
> http://www.webelists.com/cgi/lyris.pl?enter=isalist
> Report abuse to listadmin@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
> 
> ------------------------------------------------------
> List Archives: http://www.webelists.com/cgi/lyris.pl?enter=isalist
> ISA Server Newsletter: http://www.isaserver.org/pages/newsletter.asp
> ISA Server FAQ: http://www.isaserver.org/pages/larticle.asp?type=FAQ
> ------------------------------------------------------
> Visit TechGenix.com for more information about our other sites:
> http://www.techgenix.com
> ------------------------------------------------------
> You are currently subscribed to this ISAserver.org Discussion List as:
> dball@xxxxxxxxxxx
> To unsubscribe visit 
> http://www.webelists.com/cgi/lyris.pl?enter=isalist
> Report abuse to listadmin@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
> 
> ------------------------------------------------------
> List Archives: http://www.webelists.com/cgi/lyris.pl?enter=isalist
> ISA Server Newsletter: http://www.isaserver.org/pages/newsletter.asp
> ISA Server FAQ: http://www.isaserver.org/pages/larticle.asp?type=FAQ
> ------------------------------------------------------
> Visit TechGenix.com for more information about our other sites:
> http://www.techgenix.com
> ------------------------------------------------------
> You are currently subscribed to this ISAserver.org Discussion 
> List as: tshinder@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
> To unsubscribe visit 
> http://www.webelists.com/cgi/lyris.pl?enter=isalist
> Report abuse to listadmin@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
> 
> 

------------------------------------------------------
List Archives: http://www.webelists.com/cgi/lyris.pl?enter=isalist
ISA Server Newsletter: http://www.isaserver.org/pages/newsletter.asp
ISA Server FAQ: http://www.isaserver.org/pages/larticle.asp?type=FAQ
------------------------------------------------------
Visit TechGenix.com for more information about our other sites:
http://www.techgenix.com
------------------------------------------------------
You are currently subscribed to this ISAserver.org Discussion List as:
dball@xxxxxxxxxxx
To unsubscribe visit http://www.webelists.com/cgi/lyris.pl?enter=isalist
Report abuse to listadmin@xxxxxxxxxxxxx


Other related posts: