Hi Vista experts This is not really a Group Policy Query, but I am too embarrassed to ask elsewhere. I have a VB6 program that formats the UserEnv log. It works perfectly well on XP, but on Vista it keeps finding an old version of the log. It is as if Vista is showing me my own personal copy of the file, rather than the real one. The program has a browse button which allows me to explore to the windows\debug\usermode directory. I can see all of the files there. When I open an explorer window, I see exactly the same file names except that the gpsvc.log file shown within the program is an old version with an old date and size. It corresponds to the file as it was when I last opened it with my program.. If I rename the file from within my program, the correct file suddenly appears. I am presuming this is some feature of Vista. Does anyone know how to turn it off.. Alan Cuthbertson "IMPORTANT NOTICE: The information in this email (and any attachments hereto) is confidential and may be protected by legal privileges and work product immunities. If you are not the intended recipient, you must not use or disseminate the information. Receipt by anyone other than the intended recipient is not a waiver of any attorney-client or work product privilege. If you have received this email in error, please immediately notify me by "Reply" command and permanently delete the original and any copies or printouts thereof. Although this email and any attachments are believed to be free of any virus or other defect that might affect any computer system into which it is received and opened, it is the responsibility of the recipient to insure that it is virus free and no responsibility is accepted by Transatlantic Reinsurance Company or its subsidiaries or affiliates either jointly or severally, for any loss or damage arising in any way from its use."