[GeoStL] Re: NGR: This software site smells fishy?

-
Just a few more notes about these sites.

The first softwaresbuy.com was created Feb 15 (6 days ago). The other 
one was created Jan 29 (23 days ago).  The two URL actually point to 
different IP addresses (66.197.195.135 and 66.197.195.134), but I would 
guess they are on the same machine, it just has more than one address. 
The registrar for the two domains is the same: Direct Information Pvt 
Ltd d/b/a Directi.com. The location given for them is India.

So other than the location being wrong (not Russia), all the rest of the 
info is probably correct.

Jack Konecker wrote:

>-
>I've Google'd this site and can't find out
>anything specific (which in itself, is
>suspicious).  One guy in the newsgroups
>recently asked if the site was legit, but
>he got a non-conclusive response.
>http://www.softwaresbuy.com/
>
>The prices on this web site seem too
>good to be true.  They have an email
>address you can use, but no phone
>number.  I've never seen a  privacy
>and return policy page to simple and
>lacking in legalize.  They say they
>use a secure checkout page, but I
>don't see the locked padlock in my
>browser when I am on their checkout
>page.  Their checkout page is all in
>one page.  Usually, web sites have
>a series of pages that guide you
>through the process and prompt 
>you for verification of info you enter.
>
>The site says they can offer such a
>good price is because the software is
>'download only'.  No physical disk, 
>documentation or packaging.  Hmmmmm.
>
>This takes you to the same site:
>http://www.fast-store.net/
>
>No shipping necessary! All listed software
>
>is available for immediate download - after
>
>you submit your order, you will get access
>
>to our download servers. Software comes
>
>in as a single ISO image (.iso), or
>
>WinZIP/WinRAR archive. You receive
>
>FULL version of software. 
>
>
>
>Would Microsoft allow this:
>
>Microsoft Windows XP Professional
>
>Old price    $260
>New price   $49.95
>You save     $210
>
>How about this (This software is still only in beta):
>
>Microsoft Windows XP Longhorn
>
>Old price    $470
>New price   $49.95
>You save     $2420
>
>
>
> ****************************************
> Our WebPage!  Http://WWW.GeoStL.com  
> Mail List Info. http://www.freelists.org/list/geocaching
> Mail List FAQ's: http://www.freelists.org/help/questions.html 
> ****************************************
>To unsubscribe from this list:
> send an email to geocaching-request@xxxxxxxxxxxxx with 'unsubscribe' in the 
> Subject field
>
>
>
>
>
>  
>

 ****************************************
 Our WebPage!  Http://WWW.GeoStL.com  
 Mail List Info. http://www.freelists.org/list/geocaching
 Mail List FAQ's: http://www.freelists.org/help/questions.html 
 ****************************************
To unsubscribe from this list:
 send an email to geocaching-request@xxxxxxxxxxxxx with 'unsubscribe' in the 
Subject field




Other related posts: