[GeoStL] Re: NGR: This software site smells fishy?
- From: Mike Lusicic <lusicic@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
- To: geocaching@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
- Date: Mon, 21 Feb 2005 19:53:37 -0600
-
Those have been reported before, and the ones I remember say that they
are actually located in Russia, and the software is pirated. I believe
it is the actual product, but you don't really have a legal license to
use it because it is not an official Microsoft copy of the product. If
you want to compare, look up a license only price, and you will find
that they are still not that cheap.
The other clue that this is not really legal and came from a foreign
country is the "softwares" in the URL. This is a frequent translation
error because they don't understand that the plural is the same as the
singular.
In short, if you want a stolen copy of the software, there are cheaper
ways of using a stolen copy. If you want to stay legal, stay away from them.
Jack Konecker wrote:
>-
>I've Google'd this site and can't find out
>anything specific (which in itself, is
>suspicious). One guy in the newsgroups
>recently asked if the site was legit, but
>he got a non-conclusive response.
>http://www.softwaresbuy.com/
>
>The prices on this web site seem too
>good to be true. They have an email
>address you can use, but no phone
>number. I've never seen a privacy
>and return policy page to simple and
>lacking in legalize. They say they
>use a secure checkout page, but I
>don't see the locked padlock in my
>browser when I am on their checkout
>page. Their checkout page is all in
>one page. Usually, web sites have
>a series of pages that guide you
>through the process and prompt
>you for verification of info you enter.
>
>The site says they can offer such a
>good price is because the software is
>'download only'. No physical disk,
>documentation or packaging. Hmmmmm.
>
>This takes you to the same site:
>http://www.fast-store.net/
>
>No shipping necessary! All listed software
>
>is available for immediate download - after
>
>you submit your order, you will get access
>
>to our download servers. Software comes
>
>in as a single ISO image (.iso), or
>
>WinZIP/WinRAR archive. You receive
>
>FULL version of software.
>
>
>
>Would Microsoft allow this:
>
>Microsoft Windows XP Professional
>
>Old price $260
>New price $49.95
>You save $210
>
>How about this (This software is still only in beta):
>
>Microsoft Windows XP Longhorn
>
>Old price $470
>New price $49.95
>You save $2420
>
>
>
> ****************************************
> Our WebPage! Http://WWW.GeoStL.com
> Mail List Info. http://www.freelists.org/list/geocaching
> Mail List FAQ's: http://www.freelists.org/help/questions.html
> ****************************************
>To unsubscribe from this list:
> send an email to geocaching-request@xxxxxxxxxxxxx with 'unsubscribe' in the
> Subject field
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
****************************************
Our WebPage! Http://WWW.GeoStL.com
Mail List Info. http://www.freelists.org/list/geocaching
Mail List FAQ's: http://www.freelists.org/help/questions.html
****************************************
To unsubscribe from this list:
send an email to geocaching-request@xxxxxxxxxxxxx with 'unsubscribe' in the
Subject field
- References:
- [GeoStL] NGR: This software site smells fishy?
- From: Jack Konecker
Other related posts:
- » [GeoStL] NGR: This software site smells fishy?
- » [GeoStL] Re: NGR: This software site smells fishy?
- » [GeoStL] Re: NGR: This software site smells fishy?
- [GeoStL] NGR: This software site smells fishy?
- From: Jack Konecker