[GeoStL] NGR: This software site smells fishy?
- From: "Jack Konecker" <jackkonecker@xxxxxxxxxxx>
- To: <geocaching@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
- Date: Mon, 21 Feb 2005 19:09:07 -0600
-
I've Google'd this site and can't find out
anything specific (which in itself, is
suspicious). One guy in the newsgroups
recently asked if the site was legit, but
he got a non-conclusive response.
http://www.softwaresbuy.com/
The prices on this web site seem too
good to be true. They have an email
address you can use, but no phone
number. I've never seen a privacy
and return policy page to simple and
lacking in legalize. They say they
use a secure checkout page, but I
don't see the locked padlock in my
browser when I am on their checkout
page. Their checkout page is all in
one page. Usually, web sites have
a series of pages that guide you
through the process and prompt
you for verification of info you enter.
The site says they can offer such a
good price is because the software is
'download only'. No physical disk,
documentation or packaging. Hmmmmm.
This takes you to the same site:
http://www.fast-store.net/
No shipping necessary! All listed software
is available for immediate download - after
you submit your order, you will get access
to our download servers. Software comes
in as a single ISO image (.iso), or
WinZIP/WinRAR archive. You receive
FULL version of software.
Would Microsoft allow this:
Microsoft Windows XP Professional
Old price $260
New price $49.95
You save $210
How about this (This software is still only in beta):
Microsoft Windows XP Longhorn
Old price $470
New price $49.95
You save $2420
****************************************
Our WebPage! Http://WWW.GeoStL.com
Mail List Info. http://www.freelists.org/list/geocaching
Mail List FAQ's: http://www.freelists.org/help/questions.html
****************************************
To unsubscribe from this list:
send an email to geocaching-request@xxxxxxxxxxxxx with 'unsubscribe' in the
Subject field
- Follow-Ups:
- [GeoStL] Re: NGR: This software site smells fishy?
- From: Mike Lusicic
- [GeoStL] Re: NGR: This software site smells fishy?
- From: Mike Lusicic
Other related posts:
- » [GeoStL] NGR: This software site smells fishy?
- » [GeoStL] Re: NGR: This software site smells fishy?
- » [GeoStL] Re: NGR: This software site smells fishy?
- [GeoStL] Re: NGR: This software site smells fishy?
- From: Mike Lusicic
- [GeoStL] Re: NGR: This software site smells fishy?
- From: Mike Lusicic