[foxboro] ADMIN: Worm Alert (was Re: Eric recently created you an ecard : Foxboro.)

At 04:38 PM 11/25/02 -0600, Brian Long wrote:

 >Foxboro,
 >
 >Eric has just mailed you a greeting card.
 >
 >Read your card by using this URL:

Folks,

This is a pseudo-worm. Pseudo since it doesn't carry destructive 
payload, but a worm it is all the same. Do not go there, and 
especially, do not download and install the application they ask you to 
install. It's a malware in the fact that it will replicate itself by 
sending out mailings like this to all addresses in the Windows address book.

All virus scan companies have warnings regarding this worm. For 
example, see the McAfee warning at:

http://www.mcafee.com/anti-virus/security_alerts/greeting_cards/

The above link also shows a list of sites this worm will reference. 
Take heed and blacklist them.

Duc

 
 
_______________________________________________________________________
This mailing list is neither sponsored nor endorsed by Invensys Process
Systems (formerly The Foxboro Company). Use the info you obtain here at
your own risks. Read http://www.thecassandraproject.org/disclaimer.html
 
foxboro mailing list:             http://www.freelists.org/list/foxboro
to subscribe:         mailto:foxboro-request@xxxxxxxxxxxxx?subject=join
to unsubscribe:      mailto:foxboro-request@xxxxxxxxxxxxx?subject=leave
 

Other related posts: