[bookshare-discuss] Romance Literature club April 17, 2009

The next meeting of the romance Literature club will be held on April 17. We 
will be discussing Sentimental Journey a novel of the life of a young woman's 
experiences on the home front during World War II. What impactdoes war  have on 
those left behind? When the war is over, how do young women return to life as 
it was before? Is it possible to find new challenges? How does a woman deal 
with the losses war inevitably brings? 

Below is a short summary of Sentimental Journey. Join us for a discussion of 
the impact of war on life and love. Sentimental Journey can be found on 
bookshare.org. 

THE YEAR IS 1943

Like so many American women during WWII, Catherine Wilson was waiting for her 
fiancé's return from the Pacific and dreaming of married life. Then her father
enlists, too, and it's left to Catherine to manage his factory - devoting every 
waking hour to the hardest work of her life.

When Catherine first meets Johnny Danza at the Stage Door Canteen, he's just 
another GI heading overseas. But when her fiancéis killed, Johnny's V-Mail
becomes a lifeline, and soon their letters blossom into more than friendship. 
But it's only when a wounded Johnny arrives unexpectedly at Catherine's door,
that true healing.and true love.can begin.

> You can write to me, Bonnie Blose at
Bookmaven@xxxxxxxxxxx

>
> Date:  Friday, April 17, 2009 2009.
>
> Time:  6:00 p.m. Pacific, 7:00 p.m. Mountain, 8:00 p.m. Central, 9:00 p.m.
>       Eastern and elsewhere in the world Saturday 1:00 GMT.
>
> Where:  Romance Literature Room at:
>
>
http://conference321.com/masteradmin/room.asp?id=rsfd8219297b18
>

> Or, alternatively,
>
>
http://www.accessibleworld.org.
Select The Romance Literature Room, enter
> your first and last names on the sign-in screen.
>
> All online interactive programs require no password, are free of charge,
> and open to anyone worldwide having an Internet connection, a computer,
> speakers, and a sound card. Those with microphones can interact audibly
> with the presenters and others in the virtual audience.
>
> If you are a first-time user of the Talking Communities online
> conferencing software, there is a small, safe software program that you
> need to download and then run. A link to the software is available on
> every entry screen to the Accessible World online rooms.

Other related posts: