[bct] Re: Warning, jaws without authorization

  • From: Borris de Norie <blindcoolborris@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • To: Neal Ewers <blindcooltech@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • Date: Thu, 1 Jun 2006 18:09:02 -0400

On 6/1/2006, 6:00:00 PM EST, Neal wrote:

> First, for all we know, Rick is being
> spoofed.

Oh yes, no doubt about it. Take a look at the relevant part of the message 
headers from the
fake rick:
Received: from dbmail-mx1.orcon.net.nz (loadbalancer2.orcon.net.nz 
        by turing.freelists.org (Avenir Technologies Mail Multiplex) with ESMTP 
id 6B27F3455EE

        And now that same part of a message received from the real one:
Received: from smtp101.sbc.mail.mud.yahoo.com (smtp101.sbc.mail.mud.yahoo.com 
        by turing.freelists.org (Avenir Technologies Mail Multiplex) with SMTP 
id 77839344D21

Looking further down the line, you see this, which proves authenticity,
at least to the SBCGlobal SMTP servers:
Received: from unknown (HELO Black3GHZ) (rickharmon@xxxxxxxxxxxxx@ 
with login)
  by smtp101.sbc.mail.mud.yahoo.com with SMTP; 1 Jun 2006 02:40:13 -0000

Dead giveaway! The real Rick is authenticated, and the fake one isn't.
And anyway, why would you send mail through an SMTP server in New

-- -- 
Patrick Perdue (MCP, CNA)
Greensboro, NC
website: http://www.pdaudio.net
home: +1(828)221-2971
Mobile phone and SMS: +1(336)509-5583
e-mail and .net messenger: <Patrick@xxxxxxxxxxx>
skype: Borris
For anything related to the yamaha motif line of keyboards and
modules, subscribe to the motif-help mailing list by sending a
blank message to:

This message originally sent in reply to neal.ewers@xxxxxxxxxxxxxx on Thursday, 
June 01, 2006 at 6:02 PM EDT.

Other related posts: