[bct] Re: Stop Stop Stop

  • From: "Allison Mervis" <allisonfm@xxxxxxxxxxx>
  • To: <blindcooltech@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • Date: Sat, 18 Mar 2006 15:44:53 -0500

I believe the attack on the FTP site was performed by the same person who sent this bogus email.

----- Original Message ----- From: "Pam Quinn" <quinn.family@xxxxxxxxx>
To: <blindcooltech@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
Sent: Saturday, March 18, 2006 7:32 AM
Subject: [bct] Re: Stop Stop Stop

Good God, this is unbelievable! Do you suppose it's just a
coincidence or have you found the culprit to the attack on the ftp site as well? Dark side indeed! Well now I'm confused with the impersonations and such. Was that email from Don about the cleanup software legitimate or not. I already deleted the email so can't look it over but was thinking about trying that out.


----- Original Message -----
From: "Larry Skutchan" <blindcooltech@xxxxxxxxx
To: <blindcooltech@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
Date: Sat, 18 Mar 2006 05:42:45 -0500
Subject: [bct] Stop Stop Stop

This is very interesting, and shows us something else about what
we all need to know about the internet and email.

In addition to the bogus messages proportidly from Darrell and
Don, now, there are some from me.

I will now have to do something that I have never had to do in
all my years of computing. I will remove this person from the list. I thought about just asking him to quit, but he has already violated the policies of his ISP, good edequite, and is possibly creeping into some federal violations about impersonation.

I hope you all will use this as a chance to educate yourself
about installing software from unknown sources and reading anything on the internet with some skeptisism.

It is pretty easy, in this case, to recognize that the "from"
field is the person he wants to impersonate's email address rather than the normal name you usually see from the real poster, but it would be just as easy to impersonate that as well.

I believe I will take legal action if anymore of this happens.

 ----- Original Message -----
 From: blindcooltech@xxxxxxxxx
 To: blindcooltech@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
 Sent: Saturday, March 18, 2006 4:59 AM
 Subject: [bct] Re: My Apologies About Audio Magic

Hello all,

Darrell is correct, this software does not do harm to your
computer from what I've found so far.  Keep up the great work Daniel!

 This email was send via myTrashMail.com
 Time: Central Standard Time

Other related posts: