[bksvol-discuss] o/t--educational opportunity that may interest some

Please circulate widely.

The Cisco academy for the vision impaired is planning to run an IT
essentials 1 course starting August 6 2009. Course cost is $75.
For more info email caviinfo@xxxxxxxxx and check out the website
http://www.cucat.org

IT Essentials 1 is an introduction to computer repair and
troubleshooting, and is an excellent way to learn both computer
maintenance skills and initial
helpdesk technique.

Students who undertake this course are expected to have good internet
and adaptive technology use skills; we provide advice on how to
navigate course material
but do not teach accessibility skills as part of the course.

Lectures will be provided online using Ventrilo and will be on
Thursday morning at 1 universal each week.
See http://www.timeanddate.com to convert to your local time zone, a
few examples are given below.

1AM universal is:
9am Perth time, 11am Melbourne/Sydney/Brisbane time,
6:30am Indian time,
6pm  pacific, 7pm mountain (daylight), 8pm central and 9pm eastern
Wednesday evening.

Students who can not attend lectures for one reason or another; are
able to download the recordings in mp3 format from the
http://www.cucat.org website.

Exams, labs and excersises are done online inside a browser and  by
editing word documents.
Students should be comfortable with accessing pdf files also.

Due to accessability problems with voiceover on the Mac, skype and
Ventrilo have accessibility limitations and flash content will not
display. Students
are recommended to run Windows on either a separate box or virtually
when doing the course.

At course completion students will receive a certificate outlining the
skills they have attained. This certificate is an excellent adition to
your CV.
Please forward this announcement to anyone you think might have an
interest in this course.

-- 
Change the world--1 deed at a time
Jackie McBride
Check out my homepage at:
www.abletec.serverheaven.net
& please join my fight against breast cancer
<http://teamacs.acsevents.org/site/TR?px=1790196&pg=personal&fr_id=3489>
 To unsubscribe from this list send a blank Email to
bksvol-discuss-request@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
put the word 'unsubscribe' by itself in the subject line.  To get a list of 
available commands, put the word 'help' by itself in the subject line.

Other related posts: