[bcab] That Phish has been swimming around for ages

This is not a friendly phish, but don't panic, just be on your guard. According 
to the first google 
lookup I made,  the "eBay verify accounts" phishing email (from the fictional 
address security at e 
bay dot com) has been trying to hook people since April 2005.

Leon Gilbert

ENCS from The Anti-Phishing Working Group
eBay- 'eBay Verify Accounts'
18-Apr-2005
From
http://www.antiphishing.org/phishing_archive/04-18-05_eBay/04-18-05_eBay.html
Summary
Email title:'eBay Verify Accounts'
Scam target:eBay users
Sender:eBay Security <security@xxxxxxxx>
Sender spoofed/hidden?Yes
Scam goal:Getting victim's eBay and Paypal username/password, credit card 
information, bank account 
information, etc.
Phish link method URL link
Link 'masked'? Yes
Visible link: http://www.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?VerifyRegistrationShow
Actual link to: 
http://www.security-validation-your-account.com/signin.ebay/signin.ebay.com/acounts/memb/avncenter/dll87443/BayISAPI.dll/sign_in.htm
Phish site IP :62.141.48.5
(End)

PS: Can anyone recommend a good accessible "phishing filter" program, if there 
really is such a 
thing? 


***  BCAB List administration ***

If you wish to unsubscribe, set vacation,, request a digest or carry out 
routine maintenance on your subscription to the list then go to:
http://www.bcab.org.uk/mailing-list.html

Alternatively, send an email to bcab-request@xxxxxxxxxxxxx with the word faqin 
the subject line. You'll receive an email with advice on managing your 
subscription to the list.
 
If you wish to discuss the administration of the list then contact:
bcab-moderators@xxxxxxxxxxxxx

Other related posts: