[bcab] Re: BEWARE OF FRAUDULENT E-MAILS

Hi Wendy,

I get these phishing emails from time to time, wanting you to log in to a
copy cat site that will capture your username and password. These sites must
exist somewhere and can be traced so I always report them. I like to think
that PayPal are on the ball and shut them down because I don't get repeat
emails.

I used to get 10 or 20 emails every day to log in to Barclays Bank. I don't
have an account so I knew they were fake. I reported them to Barclays on
several occassions but it never stopped. Perhaps I'm being unfair, but it
gave me the impression that Barclays doesn't give a damn.

Cheers,
Steve

Azabat Software
Computer Games for Blind and Partially Sighted Beginners
Tel: 07740 777 364
Email: steve@xxxxxxxxxxxx
Web: www.azabat.co.uk


-----Original Message-----
From: bcab-bounce@xxxxxxxxxxxxx [mailto:bcab-bounce@xxxxxxxxxxxxx]On
Behalf Of Wendy Sharpe
Sent: 26 March 2007 15:58
To: Bcab
Subject: [bcab] BEWARE OF FRAUDULENT E-MAILS


This message is for anyone who has a Paypal account.

I have recently received several messages purporting to come from Paypal
asking me to update my account.  I was suspicious of them, so I closed the
message and logged onto my Paypal account from within Internet Explorer and
my financial favourites list.  There was no request there to update my
account, so I contacted Paypal asking if they had sent me any messages
asking me to do this.  I have today received a message from them saying they
have not asked me to amend my details.

If you have a Paypal account and receive any messages like this, the first
thing to do is look at the greeting.  Paypal say on their page about
protecting yourself against fraudulent e-mails that they always greet you
with your full name or Paypal business account name.  The messages I
received began with "dear Paypal user", which indicated that they were not
genuine.  When Paypal write to me the messages always say "dear Wendy
Sharpe".

Even if the message asks you to click on a link to go to the Paypal website,
never do this.  Always close the message, open your web browser and log on
in the normal way.

Finally, Paypal would like you to forward any suspicious messages to:

spoof@xxxxxxxxxx

telling them why you are suspicious.  They will then check the messages and
try to find out where they are coming from.

I hope this will keep you all safe.

Wendy
***  BCAB List administration ***

If you wish to unsubscribe, set vacation,, request a digest or carry out
routine maintenance on your subscription to the list then go to:
http://www.bcab.org.uk/mailing-list.html

Alternatively, send an email to bcab-request@xxxxxxxxxxxxx with the word
faqin the subject line. You'll receive an email with advice on managing your
subscription to the list.

If you wish to discuss the administration of the list then contact:
bcab-moderators@xxxxxxxxxxxxx


__________ NOD32 2145 (20070326) Information __________

This message was checked by NOD32 antivirus system.
http://www.eset.com


***  BCAB List administration ***

If you wish to unsubscribe, set vacation,, request a digest or carry out 
routine maintenance on your subscription to the list then go to:
http://www.bcab.org.uk/mailing-list.html

Alternatively, send an email to bcab-request@xxxxxxxxxxxxx with the word faqin 
the subject line. You'll receive an email with advice on managing your 
subscription to the list.
 
If you wish to discuss the administration of the list then contact:
bcab-moderators@xxxxxxxxxxxxx

Other related posts: