[amayausers] Re: Amaya For Sale
- From: "Roland R. Irish III" <signman@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
- To: amayausers@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
- Date: Sat, 29 Apr 2006 08:36:25 -0400
My take on buying something like an Amaya on the internet....if I
could not call the company and talk to them, AND call the local Melco
Rep to double check on the condition-I wouldn't follow up at all!
The frauds/scams work in the other direction also-couple years ago we
sold off a semiautomatic screen press, and listed it on Yahoo or
eBay, can't remember. Had a buyer contact me, arrange price, checked
on shipping, but their questions just didn't 'sound' right...then we
got a ceritified bank check in the mail for the wrong amount...and a
phone call that 'their accountant' had screwed up...would I cash the
check, send the press, and refund the overpayment?
I already knew it was a con by then....had been in touch with the FBI
about them doing something...
went to my bank with the check just to see about it-and would you
believe this-my bank said they would NOT verify the authenticity of
the check-unless I deposited it!!!!!!! They were not concerned at
all! Believe me, I DID call the bank listed on the certified check-
and it was totally bogus...
took several weeks before the FBI did anything-I sent them copies of
every email, the check, the letters, etc.
At least I had the satisfaction of knowing I screwed with the guy for
two months...
by the way, the certified check was in a Fedex letter from DUBAI or
someplace wierd like that...wonder if they ever paid their fedex
account!
Roland
- References:
- [amayausers] Amaya For Sale
- From: Barbara Hazelrig-Mirsky
Other related posts:
- » [amayausers] Re: Amaya For Sale
- » [amayausers] Amaya For Sale
- » [amayausers] Re: Amaya For Sale
- » [amayausers] Amaya For Sale
- » [amayausers] Re: Amaya For Sale
- » [amayausers.com] Re: Amaya For Sale - theboards
- [amayausers] Amaya For Sale
- From: Barbara Hazelrig-Mirsky