Go to the FreeLists Home Page Home Signup Help Login
 



[webproducers] || [Date Prev] [04-2004 Date Index] [Date Next] || [Thread Prev] [04-2004 Thread Index] [Thread Next]

[webproducers] Re: client project hours software

  • From: "Cortney Sellers" <cortney@xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • To: <webproducers@xxxxxxxxxxxxx>
  • Date: Thu, 22 Apr 2004 23:22:06 -0500
I agree with Dan.  I wanted to chime in here with a couple of additional
tools.  I recently had a bizarre problem and every scan kept coming up
clean.  I use various Pro versions of several softwares that I update and
scan with daily just in case, such as AdAware Pro, PestPatrol, Anti-virus,
etc).  

I finally found 2 specific programs which helped to track and eliminate the
critters.

1.)  HiJackThis: This is the program that helped me clean up stuff that the
aforementioned programs didn't find.
http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/index.html

2.) Kiwi Syslog Daemon: This program logs and stores my UDP and TCP traffic.
The problem I had was someone was using my system through UDP protocols and
churning out 1000kbs of data streams in like NO time.  I don't even want to
know WHAT was truly being done, only that I wanted it stopped.  Now I have
this program that runs in the background and helped me verify the critters
were indeed gone. 
http://www.kiwisyslog.com/faq/syslog/syslog_faq.htm

Others I used were:
Spybot S&D - http://security.kolla.de
Bazooka Spyware Scanner - http://www.kephyr.com/spywarescanner/

Once I ran all of these (hijackthis in particular) -- my UDP system attacks
stopped.

Hope this helps!

Apologies for being a bit off-topic, but with us relying on our systems for
our work, and as broadband expands -- it is truthfully an extremely relevant
topic to the list, right?   

Cortney

-----Original Message-----
From: webproducers-bounce@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
[mailto:webproducers-bounce@xxxxxxxxxxxxx] On Behalf Of Dan Horning
Sent: Thursday, April 22, 2004 10:06 PM
To: webproducers@xxxxxxxxxxxxx; AVWDC@xxxxxxx
Subject: [webproducers] Re: client project hours software

huh??

handango has been around for years
I just poked around the site to see if there was any activeX or javascript
hacks on it - so far I saw nothing - a couple of questions I might ask -
what browser, do you have any personal information saved on that browser
(ex. autofill). if not autofill data - then I suggest you download spybot
S&D from http://security.kolla.de, then also make sure your antivirus is up
to date.

and - PROTEST THE CHARGES
find out from you bank in person exactly when and from what company the
charges came from.
maybe its another autopayment that you've forgotten for something else - if
it's still from this site
I'm going to bet that handango has a direct number - lookup on whois (
http://www.whois.sc/ ) and find a number. call them and ask them to verify
your IP that the charge came from (assuming it was from them) and based on
all that - if they were the ones to charge you - if you got your personal
system hacked and they have seen CC info in the past - then they might have
followed you around saw you went to that site and found something they
wanted - but again - maybe it's just some recurring autopayment you have
that you didn't recognize - ultimately - go to you back in person and find
out what exactly that charge is - otherwise you'll just drive yourself nuts
- if you do find out that your system was hacked - feel free to email me
back offlist and I'll talk you through finding out what might be stealing
your info. 

> -----Original Message-----
> From: webproducers-bounce@xxxxxxxxxxxxx 
> [mailto:webproducers-bounce@xxxxxxxxxxxxx] On Behalf Of AVWDC@xxxxxxx
> Sent: Thursday, April 22, 2004 4:38 PM
> To: webproducers@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
> Subject: [webproducers] Re: client project hours software
> 
> Today,  I followed a link from the list to Handango. I looked 
> at the home 
> page and performed a search for "time tracking software".  I 
> didn't see anything 
> of interest and left the site.  Shockingly, I was just 
> checking banking online 
> and saw a charge for $ 59.95 for software  I didn't purchase 
> much less fill 
> out any forms.  Obviously there is something criminal taking 
> place.  So I state 
> this as a warning for anyone else who might be curious and 
> following that 
> link.  Of course the company has no customer service than an 
> online form.  Please 
> be careful, I would hate to see this happen to anyone else.
> 
> Deb Huenke
> 
> 
> 
> 
> 
> 
> ______________________________________________________________
> ____________
> To unsubscribe send a blank message with unsubscribe in the 
> subject to webproducers-request@xxxxxxxxxxxxx
> 
> To access our webform to subscribe, unsubscribe, and manage 
> your subscription (digest and vacation)  visit  www.WebProducers.org. 
> 
> The WPO list is a public discussion forum with a public 
> archive at www.WebProducers.org. Be sure to trim your posts 
> and delete personal information such as telephone numbers if 
> you do not want them as part of the archive.
> 
> 

__________________________________________________________________________
To unsubscribe send a blank message with unsubscribe in the subject to
webproducers-request@xxxxxxxxxxxxx

To access our webform to subscribe, unsubscribe, and manage your
subscription (digest and vacation)  visit  www.WebProducers.org. 

The WPO list is a public discussion forum with a public archive at
www.WebProducers.org. Be sure to trim your posts and delete personal
information such as telephone numbers if you do not want them as part of the
archive.



__________________________________________________________________________
To unsubscribe send a blank message with unsubscribe in the subject to 
webproducers-request@xxxxxxxxxxxxx

To access our webform to subscribe, unsubscribe, and manage your subscription 
(digest and vacation)  visit  www.WebProducers.org. 

The WPO list is a public discussion forum with a public archive at 
www.WebProducers.org. Be sure to trim your posts and delete personal 
information such as telephone numbers if you do not want them as part of the 
archive.





[ Home | Signup | Help | Login | Archives | Lists ]

All trademarks and copyrights within the FreeLists archives are owned by their respective owners.
Everything else ©2007 Avenir Technologies, LLC.